New ZealandOceania · NZ · NZD

New Zealand

Aotearoa

81 licensed entities supervised by the Reserve Bank of New Zealand / FMA.

Listed insurers
81
Insurance classes
6
Groups present
20
Illustrated collage of New Zealand, inspired by Waitangi Treaty Grounds, Auckland, Fiordland National Park.
New Zealand
INSURERS.GLOBAL / NZAn illustrated portrait · AI-created artwork

Reinsurance tax on foreign reinsurers

Latest available research by tax type. Treaty relief and transaction conditions can change the result.

  • New Zealand: 2.8% — Older evidence · reviewed 2026-10-06
Compare jurisdictions, sources and history →

A sense of place

Beyond the numbers.

Heritage, places of work and the landscapes that connect them. Three selected references behind this artistic portrait.

Local names, languages & illustration notes

Selected local names and languages, with links to the references behind this artistic composition.

New ZealandNew Zealand

English / nzs
New Zealand
Māori
Aotearoa

Name reference: mledoze/countries · ODbL data · ODbL licence. Flag artwork: flag-icons · MIT.

By class of business

Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.

By ownership

  • Domestic private34 42%
  • Foreign multinational32 40%
  • Mutual / cooperative12 15%
  • State-owned / parastatal2 2%
  • Regional / multilateral1 1%

Verification log

Verified - full register · RBNZ Register of New Zealand licensed insurers, last updated 26 Aug 2026 (page saved by the owner on 23 Sep 2026): 79 licensed insurers

Reconciled against the RBNZ register of 79 licensed insurers (last updated 26 Aug 2026, page saved by the owner): 32 rows matched, 47 licensees added (overseas insurers operating in NZ, captives, the second MAS, Gen Re, Munich Re and Southern Cross entities, Hollard, Union Medical Benefits), 14 rows removed (brands such as Ando, Initio, Cove, Accuro and UniMed that are not licensees, Foundation Life whose licence was cancelled on 4 May 2026, and rows absent from the register), ACC and the Natural Hazards Commission kept as statutory bodies outside the register. The register gives no class, so added classes come from names only and many are U.

Licensed insurers in New Zealand

Scroll horizontally to compare columns.

CompanyClassParent / groupOwnershipRegulatorVerificationPopularity
AA InsuranceGGeneral (Non-life)Suncorp / NZAA JVForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
AIG Insurance New ZealandNYSE: AIGGGeneral (Non-life)AIGIAIGForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified79 Confidence: Low
Allianz Australia NZ branchFWB: ALV
Registered as Allianz Australia Insurance Limited
GGeneral (Non-life)AllianzIAIGForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Autosure (Provident)
Registered as Autosure Insurance Limited
GGeneral (Non-life)ProvidentDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Berkshire Hathaway Specialty NZNYSE: BRK.B
Registered as Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company
GGeneral (Non-life)Berkshire HathawayIAIGForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Chubb Insurance New ZealandGGeneral (Non-life)ChubbIAIGForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
FMG (Farmers' Mutual Group)
Registered as FMG Insurance Limited
GGeneral (Non-life)FMGMutual / cooperativeRBNZ / FMAVerified—
IAG New ZealandASX: IAG
State, AMI, NZI brands; largest
GGeneral (Non-life)IAGForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Lloyd's (NZ)
Registered as Lloyd's of London
GGeneral (Non-life)Lloyd'sRegional / multilateralRBNZ / FMAVerified76 Confidence: Low
Provident InsuranceGGeneral (Non-life)ProvidentDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified90 Confidence: Low
QBE Insurance (Australia) NZ branchASX: QBE
Registered as QBE Insurance (Australia) Limited
GGeneral (Non-life)QBEIAIGForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Quest Insurance
Registered as Quest Insurance Group Limited
GGeneral (Non-life)QuestDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Tower InsuranceNZX: TWR
NZX-listed
GGeneral (Non-life)Tower LtdDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Vero Insurance New ZealandASX: SUNGGeneral (Non-life)Suncorp GroupForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Zurich Australian Insurance NZ branchSIX: ZURN
Registered as Zurich Australian Insurance Limited
GGeneral (Non-life)ZurichIAIGForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
nib nzASX: NHFHHealth / MedicalnibForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Southern Cross Medical Care Society
Largest health insurer
HHealth / MedicalSouthern CrossMutual / cooperativeRBNZ / FMAVerified77 Confidence: Low
AIA New ZealandHKEX: 1299
Ex-Sovereign
LLifeAIA GroupIAIGForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified80 Confidence: Low
Asteron Life NZ
Acquired from Suncorp 2025; Registered as Asteron Life Limited
LLifeResolution LifeForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Chubb Life NZ (ex-Cigna)
Registered as Chubb Life Insurance New Zealand Limited
LLifeChubbIAIGForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified96 Confidence: Low
Co-operative LifeLLifeCo-operative BankMutual / cooperativeRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Fidelity Life
Registered as Fidelity Life Assurance Company Limited
LLifeFidelity Life / NZ Super FundDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Momentum LifeLLifeMomentumDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Partners LifeTSE: 8750
Largest NZ life
LLifeDai-ichi LifeIAIGForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Pinnacle LifeLLifePinnacleDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Resolution Life NZ
Ex-AMP Life; Registered as Resolution Life New Zealand Limited
LLifeResolution LifeForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Southsure AssuranceLLifeSBS BankMutual / cooperativeRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Gen Re NZNYSE: BRK.B
Registered as General Reinsurance Australia Ltd
RReinsurerBerkshire HathawayIAIGForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Hannover Life Re of Australasia NZFWB: TLX
Registered as Hannover Life Re of Australasia Ltd
RReinsurerTalanxIAIGForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified69 Confidence: Low
Munich Re NZFWB: MUV2
Registered as Munich Reinsurance Company
RReinsurerMunich ReIAIGForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified50 Confidence: Low
RGA NZNYSE: RGA
Registered as RGA Reinsurance Company of Australia Limited
RReinsurerRGAIAIGForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Swiss Re Life & Health NZSIX: SREN
Registered as Swiss Re Life & Health Australia Limited
RReinsurerSwiss ReIAIGForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
ACC (Accident Compensation Corp)State-owned
Statutory accident scheme; Accident Compensation Corporation is a Crown entity running the statutory no-fault accident scheme under the Accident Compensation Act 2001; it is not an IPSA licensee and is not on the RBNZ register
XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveNZ GovernmentState-owned / parastatalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Toka Tu Ake EQC (Natural Hazards Commission)State-owned
Natural hazards; Natural Hazards Commission Toka Tu Ake (formerly EQC) is a Crown entity providing statutory natural hazard cover; it is not an IPSA licensee and is not on the RBNZ register
XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveNZ GovernmentState-owned / parastatalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
ACS (NZ) Limited
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2012-02-27; rating: rating not required; exemptions: S60(2A). Provisionally licensed under s246(1A) (register footnote ***). ownership not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Aioi Nissay Dowa Insurance Company Limited
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-03-12; rating: A.M. Best A+; S&P A+; exemptions: S38, S59. Japanese insurer operating in NZ (domicile from name); DO is a placeholder. ownership not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
American Income Life Insurance Company
Register gives no class; class L inferred from the name (Life). Licence effective 2013-08-23; rating: A.M. Best A; exemptions: S38. Overseas (US) insurer by its name; FM from domicile. ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
LLifeParent not named in registerForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Atradius Credito y Caucion S.A. de Seguros y Reaseguros
Register gives no class; class X inferred from the name (credit and surety (credito y caucion) in its name). Licence effective 2013-06-28; rating: A.M. Best A; exemptions: S38, S59. Spanish S.A. operating in NZ; FM from domicile. ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveParent not named in registerForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Beneficial Insurance Limited
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-02-27; rating: A.M. Best B++. ownership not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Booster Assurance Limited
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-05-08; rating: rating not required. ownership not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Brightsideco Insurance Limited
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-05-30; rating: rating not required; exemptions: S60(2A). ownership not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
CBL Insurance Limited
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-09-04; rating: rating not required. The register lists it as "(In Liquidation)"; still on the register of licensed insurers. ownership not researched; Registered as CBL Insurance Limited (In Liquidation)
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
CentrePort Captive Insurance Limited
Register gives no class; class X inferred from the name (Captive in its name). Licence effective 2022-10-14; rating: rating not required. ownership not researched
XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Compagnie Francaise d'Assurance pour le Commerce Exterieur
Register gives no class; class X inferred from the name (export-trade (credit) insurance in its name). Licence effective 2021-12-13; rating: A.M. Best A; Fitch AA-; exemptions: S38, S59. French insurer operating in NZ; FM from domicile. ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveParent not named in registerForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Factory Mutual Insurance Company
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2015-10-05; rating: A.M. Best A+; S&P A+; Fitch AA; exemptions: S38, S59. Mutual by its name (groupTypeCode MU); overseas insurer; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerMutual / cooperativeRBNZ / FMAVerified—
First American Title Insurance Company of Australia Pty Ltd
Register gives no class; class X inferred from the name (title insurance in its name). Licence effective 2013-08-26; rating: A.M. Best A; exemptions: S38, S59. Australian company operating in NZ (domicile from name); DO is a placeholder. ownership not researched
XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
General Reinsurance Life Australia Ltd
Register gives no class; class R inferred from the name (Reinsurance). Licence effective 2013-05-22; rating: rating not required; exemptions: S38, S59, S119. Group from the name it shares with General Reinsurance Australia Ltd (row 195, Berkshire Hathaway); FM follows that row
RReinsurerGen ReForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Great Lakes Insurance SE
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-04-02; rating: A.M. Best A+; S&P AA; exemptions: S38, S59. European SE operating in NZ; FM from domicile. ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Hallmark General Insurance Company Ltd
Register gives no class; class G inferred from the name (General in its name). Licence effective 2012-02-29; rating: rating not required; exemptions: S38, S59, S60(2A). Overseas insurer (exemptions S38, S59, S60(2A)); DO is a placeholder. ownership not researched
GGeneral (Non-life)Parent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Hallmark Life Insurance Company Ltd
Register gives no class; class L inferred from the name (Life). Licence effective 2013-05-28; rating: S&P BBB+; exemptions: S38, S59, S119. Overseas insurer (exemptions S38, S59, S119); DO is a placeholder. ownership not researched
LLifeParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
HDI Global Specialty SE
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2021-03-31; rating: A.M. Best A+; S&P AA; exemptions: S38, S59. European SE operating in NZ; FM from domicile. ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Helia Insurance Pty Ltd
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-04-18; rating: S&P A; Fitch A; exemptions: S38, S59. Australian company operating in NZ (domicile from name); DO is a placeholder. ownership not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Indemnity and General Insurance Company Limited
Register gives no class; class G inferred from the name (General in its name). Licence effective 2013-07-15; rating: rating not required. ownership not researched
GGeneral (Non-life)Parent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Medical Insurance Society Limited
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-05-27; rating: S&P A. One of two MAS licensees (see removal of row 155); group from the Medical ... Society name it shares with row 155, whose group is MAS / MU
UNot stated in registerMASMutual / cooperativeRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Medical Life Assurance Society Limited
Register gives no class; class L inferred from the name (Life). Licence effective 2013-05-27; rating: S&P A. One of two MAS licensees (see removal of row 155); group from the Medical ... Society name it shares with row 155, whose group is MAS / MU
LLifeMASMutual / cooperativeRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Meridian Energy Captive Insurance Limited
Register gives no class; class X inferred from the name (Captive in its name). Licence effective 2013-06-25; rating: rating not required. Captive of the company its name carries
XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveMeridian EnergyDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Mitsui Sumitomo Insurance Company Limited
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-03-25; rating: A.M. Best A+; S&P A+; exemptions: S38, S59. Japanese insurer operating in NZ (domicile from name); DO is a placeholder. ownership not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Munich Reinsurance Company of Australasia LimitedFWB: MUV2
Register gives no class; class R inferred from the name (Reinsurance). Licence effective 2013-04-02; rating: rating not required; exemptions: S38, S59, S119. Group from its name; FM follows row 197 (Munich Re)
RReinsurerMunich ReIAIGForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
New Zealand Medical Indemnity Insurance Limited
Register gives no class; class G inferred from the name (medical indemnity (liability) in its name). Licence effective 2013-06-28; rating: A.M. Best B+. ownership not researched
GGeneral (Non-life)Parent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
NorthStandard Limited
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2018-10-09; rating: S&P A; exemptions: S38, S59. Overseas insurer (exemptions S38, S59); DO is a placeholder. ownership not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Pacific International Insurance Pty Ltd
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-09-04; rating: A.M. Best B++; exemptions: S38, S59. Australian company operating in NZ (domicile from name); DO is a placeholder. ownership not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Police Health Plan Limited
Register gives no class; class H inferred from the name (Health). Licence effective 2013-05-07; rating: A.M. Best A-. ownership not researched
HHealth / MedicalParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
PPS Mutual Limited
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2025-07-14; rating: A.M. Best B+. Mutual by its name (groupTypeCode MU); licensed 14 Jul 2025; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerMutual / cooperativeRBNZ / FMAVerified—
QBE Lenders' Mortgage Insurance LimitedASX: QBE
Register gives no class; class X inferred from the name (lenders' mortgage insurance in its name). Licence effective 2013-03-01; rating: S&P A+; exemptions: S38, S59. Group from its name; FM follows row 172 (QBE)
XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveQBEIAIGForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Resolution Life Australasia Limited
Register gives no class; class L inferred from the name (Life). Licence effective 2013-09-05; rating: Fitch AA-; exemptions: S38, S59, S119. Group from its name; FM follows row 192 (Resolution Life)
LLifeResolution LifeForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Risk Reinsurance Limited
Register gives no class; class R inferred from the name (Reinsurance). Licence effective 2023-03-23; rating: rating not required. Licensed 23 Mar 2023. ownership not researched
RReinsurerParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
SCOR SE
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2019-01-16; rating: rating not required; exemptions: S38. European SE operating in NZ; FM from domicile. ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Selacs Insurance Limited
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-07-31; rating: rating not required. ownership not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Southern Cross Benefits Limited
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-02-19; rating: S&P A. Group from its name; groupTypeCode follows row 179 (Southern Cross, MU)
UNot stated in registerSouthern CrossMutual / cooperativeRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Southern Cross Pet Insurance Limited
Register gives no class; class G inferred from the name (pet (non-life) insurance in its name). Licence effective 2020-01-30; rating: S&P A. Group from its name; groupTypeCode follows row 179 (Southern Cross, MU)
GGeneral (Non-life)Southern CrossMutual / cooperativeRBNZ / FMAVerified—
T&G Insurance Limited
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2017-11-21; rating: rating not required. ownership not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Teal Insurance Limited
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-05-29; rating: rating not required. ownership not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
The Hollard Insurance Company Pty Ltd
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2016-01-14; rating: S&P A; exemptions: S38, S59. Group from its name; FM follows the Hollard rows 159/168 (removed as brands). Australian company operating in NZ
UNot stated in registerHollard GroupForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified89 Confidence: Low
The New India Assurance Company Limited
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-02-26; rating: A.M. Best B++; exemptions: S38, S59. Indian insurer operating in NZ (domicile from name); DO is a placeholder (reported state-owned; not researched). ownership not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Tiaki Toa Limited
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2025-09-09; rating: rating not required. Licensed 9 Sep 2025. ownership not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Tokio Marine & Nichido Fire Insurance Co., Ltd.TSE: 8766
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-03-11; rating: A.M. Best A++; S&P A+; Fitch AA-; exemptions: S38, S59. Japanese insurer operating in NZ; DO is a placeholder
UNot stated in registerTokio MarineIAIGDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Union Medical Benefits Society Limited
Register gives no class; class H inferred from the name (medical benefits (health) in its name). Licence effective 2013-05-23; rating: A.M. Best A. Society by its name (groupTypeCode MU). Reported to trade as Accuro (formerly UniMed), rows 177 and 180; not established here; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
HHealth / MedicalParent not named in registerMutual / cooperativeRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Unison Insurance Limited
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-07-22; rating: rating not required. ownership not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Vero Liability Insurance Limited
Register gives no class; class G inferred from the name (liability insurance in its name). Licence effective 2013-05-07; rating: S&P AA-. Shares the Vero name with row 175 (Suncorp Group), but the register names no parent. ownership not researched
GGeneral (Non-life)Parent not named in registerDomestic privateRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Veterinary Professional Insurance Society Inc
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-07-15; rating: A.M. Best B. Incorporated society by its name (groupTypeCode MU); Registered as Veterinary Professional Insurance Society Incorporated; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerMutual / cooperativeRBNZ / FMAVerified—
Virginia Surety Company Inc
Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-06-27; rating: A.M. Best A+; exemptions: S38, S59. US company operating in NZ; FM from domicile. ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerForeign multinationalRBNZ / FMAVerified—

Popularity is an estimate of how often people search Google for each insurer, from 0 to 100; the bars show how confident the estimate is. Not a rating of the insurer. How the index works

Former and deregistered companies

Names once listed in New Zealand and no longer in use. A company that was renamed, merged or acquired is counted under the name it has today; the names below are counted in no total on this page.

Former nameWhat happenedListed today as
Accuro Health InsuranceNo longer on the registerNot recorded
Ando Insurance (Hollard)No longer on the registerNot recorded
Consumer Insurance ServicesNo longer on the registerNot recorded
Cove InsuranceNo longer on the registerNot recorded
DPL Insurance (Turners)No longer on the registerNot recorded
Foundation Life (NZ)Withdrawn 4 May 2026Not recorded
Initio (Hollard)No longer on the registerNot recorded
Kiwibank / Kiwi InsuranceNo longer on the registerNot recorded
Lifetime IncomeNo longer on the registerNot recorded
Medical Assurance Society (MAS)No longer on the registerNot recorded
Pacific Life Re NZNo longer on the registerNot recorded
Protecta InsuranceNo longer on the registerNot recorded
UniMedNo longer on the registerNot recorded
Westpac Life NZ (Fidelity)No longer on the registerNot recorded

Oceania

Another place. A new perspective.

Explore the region