Central America & Caribbean · BZ · BZD
Belize
Belice
15 licensed entities supervised by the Office of the Supervisor of Insurance and Private Pensions.
- Listed insurers
- 15
- Insurance classes
- 2
- Groups present
- 4

A sense of place
Beyond the numbers.
Heritage, places of work and the landscapes that connect them. Three selected references behind this artistic portrait.
Local names, languages & illustration notes
Selected local names and languages, with links to the references behind this artistic composition.
Belize
- bjz / English
- Belize
- Spanish
- Belice
Name reference: mledoze/countries · ODbL data · ODbL licence. Flag artwork: flag-icons · MIT.
By class of business
Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.
By ownership
Verification log
Verified - full register · OSIPP, "Licensed Insurers 2026" pages, retrieved 2026-09-26: Category 1 (https://osipp.gov.bz/category-1/) — 13 licensees; Category 2 (https://osipp.gov.bz/category-2-2/) — 1; Category 3 (https://osipp.gov.bz/category-3/) — "No insurers are presently licensed under Category 3"; Category 4 (https://osipp.gov.bz/category-4/) — 1. Legislation: https://osipp.gov.bz/insurance-legislation/. Pages state no totals; 15 licensees counted.
All 15 licensees across Categories 1-4 are included exactly as listed, including Holy Redeemer Credit Union (Special Licence), a credit union holding a special insurance licence. The register gives licence category but not class, so classes are inferred from names (Life -> L, others G) and flagged. Parents for GK Life (GraceKennedy; contact at gkco.com), Guardian General (Guardian Group), Sagicor Life (Sagicor) and CG United (Coralisle) are market knowledge, not register facts. Caveat: OSIPP's international-insurance page still cites the International Insurance Act Cap. 269; if any international insurers registered under that Act are not carried into the Category 2 list, they are not covered here (none are named on any OSIPP page retrieved). Insurance intermediaries and managers are excluded.
How to read the classes
The OSIPP register entry does not state a class of business or a parent group for 12 of these 15 entities. Where shown, class and group were inferred from the entity name (see the “basis” line on each insurer page). “Not stated in register” means the name gave no signal; most such undertakings write non-life or composite business.
Licensed insurers in Belize
| Company | Class | Parent / group | Ownership | Regulator | Verification | Popularity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atlantic Insurance Company Limited Class inferred from name. Category 1; class name-inferred (register states only the licence category); Ownership not researched | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | OSIPP | Verified | — |
| BB Insurance Company Limited Class inferred from name. Category 1; class name-inferred (register states only the licence category); shares an address with BB Life Insurance Company Limited; Ownership not researched | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | OSIPP | Verified | — |
| BB Life Insurance Company Limited Class inferred from name. Category 1; class name-inferred (register states only the licence category); Ownership not researched | LLife | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | OSIPP | Verified | — |
| Blue Creek Insurance Company Limited Class inferred from name. Category 1; class name-inferred (register states only the licence category); Ownership not researched | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | OSIPP | Verified | — |
| CG United Insurance Limited Class inferred from name. Category 1; class name-inferred (register states only the licence category); represented via Belize Insurance Centre; parent from market knowledge, not stated in the register | GGeneral (Non-life) | Coralisle Group Ltd | Foreign multinational | OSIPP | Verified | — |
| GK Life Insurance Caribbean Limited Class inferred from name. Category 1; class name-inferred (register states only the licence category); contact at gkco.com; parent from market knowledge, not stated in the register | LLife | GraceKennedy | Foreign multinational | OSIPP | Verified | — |
| Guardian General Insurance Limited Class inferred from name. Category 1; class name-inferred (register states only the licence category); represented via Simpson's Insurance Agency; parent from market knowledge, not stated in the register | GGeneral (Non-life) | Guardian Group | Foreign multinational | OSIPP | Verified | — |
| Home Protector Insurance Company Ltd. Class inferred from name. Category 1; class name-inferred (register states only the licence category); Ownership not researched | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | OSIPP | Verified | — |
| Holy Redeemer Credit Union (Special Licence) Category 1, Special Licence per register; a member-owned credit union; class L assumed (member life/credit cover), not stated by the register | LLife | Parent not named in register | Mutual / cooperative | OSIPP | Verified | — |
| Insurance Corporation of Belize Limited Class inferred from name. Category 1; class name-inferred (register states only the licence category); Ownership not researched | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | OSIPP | Verified | — |
| RF&G Insurance Company Limited Class inferred from name. Category 1; class name-inferred (register states only the licence category); Ownership not researched | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | OSIPP | Verified | — |
| RF&G Life Insurance Company Limited Class inferred from name. Category 1; class name-inferred (register states only the licence category); Ownership not researched | LLife | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | OSIPP | Verified | — |
| Sagicor Life Inc.TSX: SFC Class inferred from name. Category 1; class name-inferred (register states only the licence category); parent from market knowledge, not stated in the register | LLife | Sagicor | Foreign multinational | OSIPP | Verified | — |
| Karlsberg International Insurance Corporation Category 2 (business outside Belize); class not stated, G assumed; San Pedro, Ambergris Caye address; group type defaulted; Ownership not researched | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | OSIPP | Verified | — |
| Belize Credit Union Assurance Services Limited Category 4; class not stated, L assumed from credit-union assurance name; Ownership not researched | LLife | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | OSIPP | Verified | — |
No insurers match that filter.
Popularity is an estimate of how often people search Google for each insurer, from 0 to 100; the bars show how confident the estimate is. Not a rating of the insurer. How the index works




