Indian Ocean · KM · KMF
Comoros
جزر القمرComoresKomori
9 licensed entities supervised by the Banque Centrale des Comores.
- Listed insurers
- 9
- Insurance classes
- 3
- Groups present
- 1

A sense of place
Beyond the numbers.
Heritage, places of work and the landscapes that connect them. Three selected references behind this artistic portrait.
Local names, languages & illustration notes
Selected local names and languages, with links to the references behind this artistic composition.
Comoros
- Arabic
- جزر القمر
- French
- Comores
- zdj
- Komori
Name reference: mledoze/countries · ODbL data · ODbL licence. Flag artwork: flag-icons · MIT.
By class of business
Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.
By ownership
Verification log
Not verified - no current official register; company sources and UNDP 2024 diagnostic; current licences and possible aliases unresolved · No official register found. Checked: (1) Banque Centrale des Comores, Rapport Annuel 2025 (https://banque-comores.km/uploads/BCC_Rapport-Annuel-2025.pdf, retrieved 2026-09-26): says the revised statutes extend BCC powers to 'la supervision et à la régulation du secteur des assurances, jusque-là dévolues au Ministère chargé des finances' and that insurance regulation is a 2026 priority; it names no insurers and gives no count. BCC website sections list credit institutions and financial intermediaries only (https://banque-comores.km/page/show/etablissements-de-credit, .../intermediaires-financiers). (2) IMF/World Bank, Union of Comoros Detailed Assessment Report on AML/CFT, March 2010 (https://documents1.worldbank.org/curated/en/297031468032088981/pdf/707010ESW0P1160uation0Detail0Report.pdf, retrieved 2026-09-26), para. 55: the insurance sector 'includes only six companies', mainly motor and travel, no life business; names none. (3) Company websites (per row). Additional named evidence: UNDP, Inclusive insurance and risk financing in Comoros: Snapshot and way forward 2024, p. 27 footnote 53, based on March 2024 company interviews. https://irff.undp.org/country-diagnostic/inclusive-insurance-and-risk-financing-comoros-snapshot-and-way-forward-2024 ; indexed report copy https://undp-irff-uat.assyst-uc.com/sites/default/files/2024/Nov/comoros.pdf ; checked 2026-09-27. The report identifies nine registered-company names; it is not a current regulator licence register.
Nine source-listed entries: the existing AFG and Amana records plus seven names in UNDP 2024 footnote 53. Added at the owner's request as unverified on 2026-09-27. Current licence, legal identity, class and ownership of the seven additions are not established. Possible aliases remain unresolved, particularly Alamana versus Amana and Comorian Insurance Company versus other historical names. The total counts listed names, not nine confirmed distinct current insurers. The earlier estimate of 2 of 3-6 operators is superseded. AGP Assurances remains excluded because insurer-versus-intermediary status is not established; AMG is a health-coverage scheme, not established as a commercial insurer. Offshore Anjouan captive registrations are outside this evidence.
Licensed insurers in Comoros
| Company | Class | Parent / group | Ownership | Regulator | Verification | Popularity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AFG Assurances Comores Trades as 'AFG Assur Comores'. Wiya quotes it as 'authorized by the Ministry of Finance and Budget of the Union of the Comoros since November 25th' (year not given) and as 'an IARDT and Life insurance company'; the company site offers savings/retirement and non-life products, so classed composite. A web search excerpt of an AFG Assurances Cameroun page says it was formerly 'Comor Assurances' - not confirmed on a primary page. AFG Holding is Ivorian (founded 2006 by Koné Dossongui). | CComposite | AFG (African Financial Group) | Pan-African group | BCC | Unverified | — |
| Amana Assurances Site describes it as 'un assureur moderne' and one of the leaders of Comorian insurance; products are motor, transport/marine, travel, health, school, home, contractors' all risks and commercial multi-risk; staff list includes a 'Souscripteur Réassurance & Vie', so a life line cannot be excluded. Classed G on the product list. Licence date not found. Ownership not researched. Earlier name 'Al Amana' is inferred from the Wikipedia mention. | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | BCC | Unverified | — |
| Comorian Insurance Company Unverified source-listed name from a 2024 diagnostic, not confirmation of a current licence or a distinct legal entity. Class and ownership not established. Possible alias of another listed or historical Comoros insurer; identity reconciliation is pending. Name retained as printed by UNDP. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Ownership unverified | BCC | Unverified | — |
| Alamana Assurance Unverified source-listed name from a 2024 diagnostic, not confirmation of a current licence or a distinct legal entity. Class and ownership not established. Possible alias of another listed or historical Comoros insurer; identity reconciliation is pending. Name retained as printed by UNDP. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Ownership unverified | BCC | Unverified | — |
| Assurances Générales des Comoros Unverified source-listed name from a 2024 diagnostic, not confirmation of a current licence or a distinct legal entity. Class and ownership not established. Possible alias of another listed or historical Comoros insurer; identity reconciliation is pending. Name retained as printed by UNDP. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Ownership unverified | BCC | Unverified | — |
| MAC Assurances Unverified source-listed name from a 2024 diagnostic, not confirmation of a current licence or a distinct legal entity. Class and ownership not established. Possible alias of another listed or historical Comoros insurer; identity reconciliation is pending. Name retained as printed by UNDP. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Ownership unverified | BCC | Unverified | — |
| Big Assurances Unverified source-listed name from a 2024 diagnostic, not confirmation of a current licence or a distinct legal entity. Class and ownership not established. Possible alias of another listed or historical Comoros insurer; identity reconciliation is pending. Name retained as printed by UNDP. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Ownership unverified | BCC | Unverified | — |
| Vip Assurance Unverified source-listed name from a 2024 diagnostic, not confirmation of a current licence or a distinct legal entity. Class and ownership not established. Possible alias of another listed or historical Comoros insurer; identity reconciliation is pending. Name retained as printed by UNDP. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Ownership unverified | BCC | Unverified | — |
| Masiwa Assurance Unverified source-listed name from a 2024 diagnostic, not confirmation of a current licence or a distinct legal entity. Class and ownership not established. Possible alias of another listed or historical Comoros insurer; identity reconciliation is pending. Name retained as printed by UNDP. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Ownership unverified | BCC | Unverified | — |
No insurers match that filter.
Popularity is an estimate of how often people search Google for each insurer, from 0 to 100; the bars show how confident the estimate is. Not a rating of the insurer. How the index works



