South-East Asia · TL · USD
Timor-Leste
Timór-Leste
3 licensed entities supervised by the Banco Central de Timor-Leste.
- Listed insurers
- 3
- Insurance classes
- 2
- Groups present
- 1

A sense of place
Beyond the numbers.
Heritage, places of work and the landscapes that connect them. Three selected references behind this artistic portrait.
Local names, languages & illustration notes
Selected local names and languages, with links to the references behind this artistic composition.
Timor-Leste
- Portuguese
- Timor-Leste
- Tetum
- Timór-Leste
Name reference: mledoze/countries · ODbL data · ODbL licence. Flag artwork: flag-icons · MIT.
By class of business
Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.
By ownership
Verification log
Verified - full register · Banco Central de Timor-Leste, "Financial Institution" page, section "Insurance Companies" (Wayback Machine capture of 2026-05-09: http://web.archive.org/web/20260509233644/https://www.bancocentral.tl/en/go/financial-institution), retrieved 2026-09-26. The page says the sector has "two general insurance companies, one life insurance company" and lists Sinarmas Insurance, SA (SMI), Sinar Mas Life Insurance, S.A (SMLI) and Federal Insurance Timor, S.A. (FIT). Count: 3.
The live bancocentral.tl site was rebuilt in 2026 and old URLs now redirect to the homepage, so the list was read from the Wayback capture of 9 May 2026. National Insurance Timor-Leste, S.A. (NITL) is excluded: BCTL revoked its licence and put it into liquidation on 29 Nov 2018 (BCTL news "National Insurance Timor-Leste placed in liquidation"). The lead's Fidelidade branch does not appear on the BCTL list. BCTL reports sector total assets of US$35.7m (Dec 2025).
How to read the classes
The BCTL register entry does not state a class of business or a parent group for 1 of these 3 entities. Where shown, class and group were inferred from the entity name (see the “basis” line on each insurer page). “Not stated in register” means the name gave no signal; most such undertakings write non-life or composite business.
Licensed insurers in Timor-Leste
| Company | Class | Parent / group | Ownership | Regulator | Verification | Popularity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sinarmas Insurance, SA BCTL abbreviation SMI; Dili. General insurer (the company says it was established 2011). The name indicates the Indonesian Sinar Mas group; ownership not verified. Parent from the company name, not stated in the register. | GGeneral (Non-life) | Sinar Mas | Foreign multinational | BCTL | Verified | — |
| Sinar Mas Life Insurance, S.A BCTL abbreviation SMLI; definitive life licence granted by the BCTL Governing Board on 27 Jan 2022. Same address as Sinarmas Insurance. The name indicates the Sinar Mas group; ownership not verified. Parent from the company name, not stated in the register. | LLife | Sinar Mas | Foreign multinational | BCTL | Verified | — |
| Federal Insurance Timor, S.A. Class inferred from name. BCTL abbreviation FIT; licence under Resolution No. 38/2016 of 23 August 2016; Rua de Mozambique, Colmera, Dili. General class inferred from BCTL's "two general, one life" count. Ownership not researched, so DO is provisional. | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | BCTL | Verified | — |
No insurers match that filter.
Popularity is an estimate of how often people search Google for each insurer, from 0 to 100; the bars show how confident the estimate is. Not a rating of the insurer. How the index works




