Middle East & Gulf · IR · IRR
Iran
ایران
44 licensed entities supervised by the Central Insurance of Iran (Bimeh Markazi).
- Listed insurers
- 44
- Insurance classes
- 5
- Groups present
- 0

Reinsurance tax on foreign reinsurers
Latest available research by tax type. Treaty relief and transaction conditions can change the result.
- Iran: Rate not established — Not verified · reviewed 2026-10-06
A sense of place
Beyond the numbers.
Heritage, places of work and the landscapes that connect them. Three selected references behind this artistic portrait.
Local names, languages & illustration notes
Selected local names and languages, with links to the references behind this artistic composition.
Iran
- Persian
- ایران
Name reference: mledoze/countries · ODbL data · ODbL licence. Flag artwork: flag-icons · MIT.
By class of business
Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.
By ownership
Verification log
Partially verified - Bimeh Markazi's own tables of insurance companies (registered capital 1404/02/21 and authorised risk retention 1404/03/21, i.e. May and June 2025) together with its 1404 company performance table published 9 May 2026, which are supervisory tables rather than a licence register; the supervisor's site answers 403 to this location and its own 'insurance institutions 1404' list could not be retrieved · Central Insurance of the Islamic Republic of Iran (Bimeh Markazi): (a) the table of latest registered capital of insurance companies, updated 1404/02/21 (11 May 2025), and (b) the table of latest authorised risk-retention capacity of insurance companies, updated 1404/03/21 (11 Jun 2025) - both name the same 39 companies, 35 mainland and 4 free-zone; and (c) the preliminary 1404 company performance table (sherkat12.404), published 9 May 2026 and covering the Iranian year to 20 Mar 2026, which names 35 direct insurance companies - every one of the 39 that is not a reinsurer, plus three more (Kish Mutual, Qeshm Etminan Motahed Mutual and Mofid Life). Corroborated by the supervisor's own home-page company directory of 38 company logos captured 26 Aug 2025. All retrieved 23 Sep 2026 from Wayback Machine captures of centinsur.ir, because the live host answers 403 from this location.
Reconciled against Bimeh Markazi's own tables of insurance companies - registered capital 1404/02/21 and authorised risk retention 1404/03/21, which both name the same 39 companies (35 mainland, 4 free-zone), and the preliminary 1404 company performance table published 9 May 2026, which names 35 direct insurers to 20 Mar 2026. All 24 register entities already held were confirmed and 18 companies were added, among them five reinsurers, six life companies and two mutual insurers. Bimeh Markazi itself and the Export Guarantee Fund of Iran are kept but sit outside the register. The sources are supervisory tables rather than a licence register, and the supervisor's website answers 403 to requests from outside Iran.
Licensed insurers in Iran
Scroll horizontally to compare columns.
| Company | Class | Parent / group | Ownership | Regulator | Verification | Popularity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alborz Insurance Registered as بیمه البرز | CComposite | Alborz | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Arman Insurance Registered as بیمه آرمان | CComposite | Arman | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Asia Insurance Registered as بیمه آسیا | CComposite | Asia | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Dana Insurance Registered as بیمه دانا | CComposite | Dana | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Dey Insurance Registered as بیمه دی | CComposite | Dey | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Hafez Insurance Registered as بیمه حافظ | CComposite | Hafez | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Iran Insurance Co (Bimeh Iran)State-owned Largest; state; Registered as بیمه ایران | CComposite | Government of Iran | State-owned / parastatal | CII | Partial | — |
| Karafarin Insurance Registered as بیمه کارآفرین | CComposite | Karafarin | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Kowsar Insurance Registered as بیمه کوثر | CComposite | Kowsar | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Ma Insurance Registered as بیمه ما | CComposite | Ma | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Mellat Insurance Registered as بیمه ملت | CComposite | Mellat | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Mihan Insurance Registered as بیمه میهن | CComposite | Mihan | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Moallem Insurance Registered as بیمه معلم | CComposite | Moallem | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Novin Insurance Registered as بیمه نوین | CComposite | Novin | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Omid Insurance Registered as بیمه امید | CComposite | Omid | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Parsian Insurance Registered as بیمه پارسیان | CComposite | Parsian | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Pasargad Insurance Registered as بیمه پاسارگاد | CComposite | Pasargad | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Razi Insurance Registered as بیمه رازی | CComposite | Razi | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Saman Insurance Registered as بیمه سامان | CComposite | Saman | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Sarmad Insurance Registered as بیمه سرمد | CComposite | Sarmad | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Taavon Insurance Registered as بیمه تعاون | CComposite | Taavon | Mutual / cooperative | CII | Partial | — |
| Tejarat-No Insurance Registered as بیمه تجارت نو | CComposite | Tejarat-No | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Amin Re Registered as بیمه اتکایی امین | RReinsurer | Amin | Domestic private | CII | Partial | 64 Confidence: Low |
| Bimeh Markazi (Central Insurance of Iran)State-owned Regulator and compulsory reinsurer | RReinsurer | Government of Iran | State-owned / parastatal | CII | Partial | 59 Confidence: Low |
| Iranian Re Registered as بیمه اتکایی ایرانیان | RReinsurer | Iranian Re | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Export Guarantee Fund of IranState-owned | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Government of Iran | State-owned / parastatal | CII | Partial | — |
| Sina Insurance The register gives no licence class and the name does not settle it. Bimeh Markazi's published company tables give no licence class; ownership not researched.; Registered as بیمه سینا | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Hooshmand Farda Insurance The register gives no licence class and the name does not settle it. Bimeh Markazi's published company tables give no licence class; ownership not researched.; Registered as بیمه هوشمند فردا | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Hekmat Saba Insurance The register gives no licence class and the name does not settle it. Bimeh Markazi's published company tables give no licence class; ownership not researched.; Registered as بیمه حکمت صبا | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Pardis Insurance The register gives no licence class and the name does not settle it. Bimeh Markazi's published company tables give no licence class; ownership not researched.; Registered as بیمه پردیس | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Asmari Insurance The register gives no licence class and the name does not settle it. Bimeh Markazi's published company tables give no licence class; ownership not researched.; Registered as بیمه آسماری | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Avaye Pars Reinsurance Bimeh Markazi's published company tables give no licence class; ownership not researched.; Registered as بیمه اتکایی آوای پارس | RReinsurer | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Saman Reinsurance Bimeh Markazi's published company tables give no licence class; ownership not researched.; Registered as بیمه اتکایی سامان | RReinsurer | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Tehran Ravak Reinsurance Bimeh Markazi's published company tables give no licence class; ownership not researched.; Registered as بیمه اتکایی تهران رواک | RReinsurer | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Raya Reinsurance Appears in both Bimeh Markazi tables but not in the supervisor's home-page company directory captured 26 Aug 2025. Bimeh Markazi's published company tables give no licence class; ownership not researched.; Registered as اتکایی رایا | RReinsurer | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Iran Moein Reinsurance Bimeh Markazi's published company tables give no licence class; ownership not researched.; Registered as بیمه اتکایی ایران معین | RReinsurer | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Middle East Life Insurance Bimeh Markazi's published company tables give no licence class; ownership not researched.; Registered as بیمه زندگی خاورمیانه | LLife | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Baran Life Insurance Bimeh Markazi's published company tables give no licence class; ownership not researched.; Registered as بیمه زندگی باران | LLife | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Agah Life Insurance Bimeh Markazi's published company tables give no licence class; ownership not researched.; Registered as بیمه زندگی آگاه | LLife | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Karizma Life Insurance Bimeh Markazi's published company tables give no licence class; ownership not researched.; Registered as شرکت بیمه زندگی کاریزما | LLife | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Hamerz Life Insurance Bimeh Markazi's published company tables give no licence class; ownership not researched.; Registered as بیمه زندگی هامرز | LLife | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
| Kish Mutual Insurance Named in Bimeh Markazi's own 1404 company performance table (published 9 May 2026) but not in the 1404/02-03 capital and risk-retention tables, which cover joint-stock insurance companies (shrkt bymh) only; 'mtqabl' is the mutual legal form, so MU comes from the register's own name. The register gives no licence class and the name does not settle it. Ownership not researched.; Registered as بیمه متقابل کیش; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Mutual / cooperative | CII | Partial | — |
| Qeshm Etminan Motahed Mutual Insurance Named in Bimeh Markazi's own 1404 company performance table (published 9 May 2026) but not in the 1404/02-03 capital and risk-retention tables, which cover joint-stock insurance companies (shrkt bymh) only; 'mtqabl' is the mutual legal form, so MU comes from the register's own name. The register gives no licence class and the name does not settle it. Ownership not researched.; Registered as بیمه متقابل اطمینان متحد قشم; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Mutual / cooperative | CII | Partial | — |
| Mofid Life Insurance Named in Bimeh Markazi's own 1404 company performance table (published 9 May 2026) with no prior-year comparative, so it began writing during 1404 and could not appear in the 1404/02-03 tables. The registered name states life (zndgy). Bimeh Markazi's published tables give no licence class; ownership not researched.; Registered as بیمه زندگی مفید | LLife | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | CII | Partial | — |
No insurers match that filter.
Popularity is an estimate of how often people search Google for each insurer, from 0 to 100; the bars show how confident the estimate is. Not a rating of the insurer. How the index works




