MauritaniaNorth Africa · MR · MRU

Mauritania

موريتانيا

18 licensed entities supervised by the Direction du Controle des Assurances (Ministry of Finance).

Listed insurers
18
Insurance classes
4
Groups present
1
Illustrated collage of Mauritania, inspired by Chinguetti, Nouakchott, Banc d'Arguin National Park.
Mauritania
INSURERS.GLOBAL / MRAn illustrated portrait · AI-created artwork

A sense of place

Beyond the numbers.

Heritage, places of work and the landscapes that connect them. Three selected references behind this artistic portrait.

Local names, languages & illustration notes

Selected local names and languages, with links to the references behind this artistic composition.

MauritaniaMauritania

Arabic
موريتانيا

Name reference: mledoze/countries · ODbL data · ODbL licence. Flag artwork: flag-icons · MIT.

By class of business

Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.

By ownership

  • Domestic private15 83%
  • State-owned / parastatal1 6%
  • Pan-African group1 6%
  • Mutual / cooperative1 6%

Verification log

Partially verified - Direction du Controle des Assurances (Ministere des Finances) 'Rapport sur le Marche des Assurances en Mauritanie, exercice 2022' (December 2023): the supervisor's own report, which names every licensed company with its licence arrete and licensed branches, but reports the 2022 exercise and predates the reported 2025 transfer of insurance supervision to the Banque Centrale de Mauritanie (reported, not yet confirmed from an official source), whose current list could not be retrieved · Direction du Controle des Assurances, Ministere des Finances de la Republique Islamique de Mauritanie, 'Rapport sur le Marche des Assurances en Mauritanie pour l'Exercice 2022', dated December 2023, 84 pages. Section I.C 'Structures agrees' states the market is composed of seventeen (17) insurance and reinsurance companies, one (1) mutual and three (3) insurance brokers, alongside the Fonds de Garantie Automobile. Annexe 4, 'Liste des societes d'assurance et societes de courtage en assurance', names them all in French and Arabic, and pages 66-82 carry one fiche signaletique per licensed company giving its capital, its licensed branches (IARD, branche vie) and its licence arrete number and date. The live ministry host refuses TCP connections, so the file was retrieved from the Internet Archive's copy of the ministry's own URL; the archive holds identical copies under the same digest from 2024-05-15 and 2024-07-11. SHA-256 of the saved PDF: 3a9c133b859b9ba5907f2dbc29f5995e327e8d9a201c96e8f7687bedcf941faf.

Reconciled against the Direction du Controle des Assurances' own 'Rapport sur le Marche des Assurances en Mauritanie, exercice 2022' (December 2023), which names all seventeen licensed insurance and reinsurance companies and the one licensed mutual and gives each company's licensed branches and licence arrete. Two of the three held rows matched (AGM, NASR), sixteen entities were added, and one row (Sanlam Assurances Mauritanie) is absent from the register and proposed for removal. The report is the 2022 exercise and predates the reported 2025 move of insurance supervision to the Banque Centrale de Mauritanie (established from news reporting only), so licences granted or withdrawn since are not covered.

Licensed insurers in Mauritania

Scroll horizontally to compare columns.

CompanyClassParent / groupOwnershipRegulatorVerificationPopularity
AGM Assurances
Registered as Assurances Generales de Mauritanie ¨AGM¨
CCompositeIndependentDomestic privateDirection du Controle des Assurances (Ministry of Finance)Partial—
NASR (Societe Nationale d'Assurance et de Reassurance)State-owned
Registered as Nationale d'Assurances et de Reassurance (NASR)
CCompositeGovernment of MauritaniaState-owned / parastatalDirection du Controle des Assurances (Ministry of Finance)Partial54 Confidence: Low
Societe Mauritanienne des Assurances Islamiques (SMAI)
Fiche signaletique licenses IARD and branche vie; classed T because the register's own name states the company is an Islamic (takaful) insurer. Ownership not researched; the register names no parent.; Registered as Societe Mauritanienne D'assurance Islamique ¨SMAI¨
TTakaful / IslamicParent not named in registerDomestic privateDirection du Controle des Assurances (Ministry of Finance)Partial—
Societe Generale d'Assurances (SGA)
Ownership not researched; the register names no parent.; Registered as Societe Generale d'Assurance (SGA.SA)
CCompositeParent not named in registerDomestic privateDirection du Controle des Assurances (Ministry of Finance)Partial—
DAMANE Assurances
The register excludes the RCA (motor third-party) branch from its non-life licence. Largest company in the market by capital (600,000,000 MRU). Ownership not researched; the register names no parent.
CCompositeParent not named in registerDomestic privateDirection du Controle des Assurances (Ministry of Finance)Partial—
TAAMIN Assurances
Fiche signaletique licenses IARD only (no branche vie); classed T because the register's own name states the company is an Islamic (takaful) insurer. Ownership not researched; the register names no parent.; Registered as TAAMIN Assurances Islamique
TTakaful / IslamicParent not named in registerDomestic privateDirection du Controle des Assurances (Ministry of Finance)Partial—
MEDINA Assurances
Ownership not researched; the register names no parent.; Registered as Medina-d'Assurances.S.A
CCompositeParent not named in registerDomestic privateDirection du Controle des Assurances (Ministry of Finance)Partial—
Compagnie Nouvelle des Assurances (CNA)
Ownership not researched; the register names no parent.
CCompositeParent not named in registerDomestic privateDirection du Controle des Assurances (Ministry of Finance)Partial—
El Wava Assurances
Ownership not researched; the register names no parent.
CCompositeParent not named in registerDomestic privateDirection du Controle des Assurances (Ministry of Finance)Partial—
RIM-Assurances
Ownership not researched; the register names no parent.; Registered as RIM-Assurance SA (Societe d'Assurance et de Reassurance RIM-Assurances)
CCompositeParent not named in registerDomestic privateDirection du Controle des Assurances (Ministry of Finance)Partial—
Compagnie d'Assurance et de Reassurance (CAR)
Ownership not researched; the register names no parent.
CCompositeParent not named in registerDomestic privateDirection du Controle des Assurances (Ministry of Finance)Partial—
Societe Anonyme d'Assurance et de Reassurance (SAAR)
Fiche signaletique licenses IARD only, with no branche vie. Ownership not researched; the register names no parent.; Registered as Societe Anonyme d'Assurance et de Reassurance ¨S.A.A.R¨
GGeneral (Non-life)Parent not named in registerDomestic privateDirection du Controle des Assurances (Ministry of Finance)Partial—
SALAMA Assurances Mauritanie
The register does not state that this company is Islamic and does not name a parent, so it is classed C on its licensed branches and carries no group. The directory already holds 'Salama' and 'Salama (UAE)' group labels; whether this company belongs to either needs a source and was not established here.; Registered as SALAMA-Assurances-Mauritanie/SARIM.SA; Ownership not researched
CCompositeParent not named in registerDomestic privateDirection du Controle des Assurances (Ministry of Finance)Partial—
Groupement des Assurances de Mauritanie (GAMA)
Fiche signaletique licenses IARD only, with no branche vie. Ownership not researched; the register names no parent.
GGeneral (Non-life)Parent not named in registerDomestic privateDirection du Controle des Assurances (Ministry of Finance)Partial60 Confidence: Low
Mauritanienne d'Assurance et de Reassurance (MAR)
Fiche signaletique licenses IARD only, with no branche vie. Ownership not researched; the register names no parent.
GGeneral (Non-life)Parent not named in registerDomestic privateDirection du Controle des Assurances (Ministry of Finance)Partial—
IMAN Assurance
The register is internally inconsistent about this company: Annexe 4 annotates it '(en cours d'agrement)' - licence in progress - while section I.C counts it among the seventeen 'structures agreees', its fiche signaletique carries a licence arrete dated 24/12/2021, and Annexe 7 reports revenue for it in 2019, 2020 and 2022. Added on the strength of the fiche and the count; a reviewer who prefers the stricter reading should hold it. Ownership not researched; the register names no parent.; Registered as IMAN ASSURANCE (en cours d'agrement)
CCompositeParent not named in registerDomestic privateDirection du Controle des Assurances (Ministry of Finance)Partial—
SUNU Assurances Mauritanie
Group taken from the register itself: the fiche signaletique gives the company contact as an @sunu-group.com address and the licensed name is the group's own. Matches the 'Sunu Group' label already used in the directory.
CCompositeSunu GroupPan-African groupDirection du Controle des Assurances (Ministry of Finance)Partial—
Mutuelle Sehaty
The one licensed mutual in the market: section II.C records that its agrement is granted by the Minister responsible for insurance under article 219 of the Code des Assurances, and Annexe 4 lists it separately from the seventeen companies and from the three brokers. The register gives it no branch, so the class is U; its Arabic name reads 'health mutual', which suggests health cover but does not settle it. The report states it had taken on no members as at the 2022 exercise.; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerMutual / cooperativeDirection du Controle des Assurances (Ministry of Finance)Partial—

Popularity is an estimate of how often people search Google for each insurer, from 0 to 100; the bars show how confident the estimate is. Not a rating of the insurer. How the index works

Former and deregistered companies

Names once listed in Mauritania and no longer in use. A company that was renamed, merged or acquired is counted under the name it has today; the names below are counted in no total on this page.

Former nameWhat happenedListed today as
Sanlam Assurances Mauritanie (ex-Saham)No longer on the registerNot recorded

North Africa

Another place. A new perspective.

Explore the region