Oceania · Various
Pacific Islands
Markets covered: Samoa, Tonga, Vanuatu, Solomon Islands, Cook Islands and Kiribati.
53 licensed entities supervised by the National central banks and insurance supervisors (Reserve Bank of Vanuatu, Central Bank of Solomon Islands and others).
- Listed insurers
- 53
- Insurance classes
- 6
- Groups present
- 1

Reinsurance tax on foreign reinsurers
Latest available research by tax type. Treaty relief and transaction conditions can change the result.
- Cook Islands: Rate not established — Not verified · reviewed 2026-10-06
- Kiribati: Rate not established — Not verified · reviewed 2026-10-06
- Samoa: Rate not established — Not verified · reviewed 2026-10-06
- Solomon Islands: Rate not established — Not verified · reviewed 2026-10-06
- Tonga: Rate not established — Not verified · reviewed 2026-10-06
- Vanuatu: Rate not established — Not verified · reviewed 2026-10-06
A sense of place
Beyond the numbers.
Heritage, places of work and the landscapes that connect them. Three selected references behind this artistic portrait.
This directory entry groups several markets. The flags and language notes below retain their separate identities.
Local names, languages & illustration notes
Selected local names and languages, with links to the references behind this artistic composition.
Samoa
- English
- Samoa
- Samoan
- Sāmoa
Tonga
- English / Tongan
- Tonga
Vanuatu
- Bislama / English / French
- Vanuatu
Solomon Islands
- English
- Solomon Islands
Cook Islands
- English
- Cook Islands
- Rarotongan
- Kūki 'Āirani
Kiribati
- English / Gilbertese
- Kiribati
Name reference: mledoze/countries · ODbL data · ODbL licence. Flag artwork: flag-icons · MIT.
By class of business
Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.
By ownership
Verification log
Partially verified - registers retrieved for 4 of the 6 member jurisdictions (Samoa, Cook Islands, Vanuatu, Solomon Islands); Tonga and Kiribati publish no list of licensed insurers · Four member-jurisdiction registers retrieved 23 Sep 2026: Central Bank of Samoa, Licensed Financial Institutions 2026 (updated April 2026) - 2 life + 5 general insurance companies; Cook Islands Financial Supervisory Commission, Insurers page - 1 Licence Category A insurer, 3 approved external insurers, 27 licensed captive insurers; Reserve Bank of Vanuatu, supervised financial institutions - 4 local insurance companies, 1 reinsurer, 3 international insurers, 1 external insurer, 4 captives; Central Bank of Solomon Islands, Financial System Infrastructure - 3 general insurers of which 1 also holds the life licence. Tonga: the National Reserve Bank of Tonga's own list of licensed financial institutions has no insurance category and the NRBT publishes no insurer register. Kiribati: neither MFED nor the Kiribati Financial Supervisory Authority publishes a licensee list.
Registers retrieved 23 Sep 2026 for four of the six member jurisdictions: Central Bank of Samoa (Licensed Financial Institutions 2026, updated April 2026), Cook Islands FSC, Reserve Bank of Vanuatu and Central Bank of Solomon Islands. Five of the seven rows were confirmed against a register and 48 licensed insurers were added, most of them Cook Islands and Vanuatu captive and offshore insurers that had never been recorded. QBE Insurance (Vanuatu) and Vanuatu Insurance were removed: neither appears in any RBV insurance category. Tonga and Kiribati publish no register, so the market stays partially verified; the Tonga row (Federal Pacific Insurance) was matched against the same insurer's Samoa and Cook Islands licences, not against a Tongan register.
Licensed insurers in Pacific Islands
Scroll horizontally to compare columns.
| Company | Class | Parent / group | Ownership | Regulator | Verification | Popularity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Capital Insurance (Solomon Islands) | CComposite | Capital Insurance Group | Foreign multinational | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Federal Pacific Insurance (Tonga) Registered as Federal Pacific Insurance Ltd | GGeneral (Non-life) | FPI | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | 63 Confidence: Low |
| National Pacific Insurance (Samoa, Tonga) Registered as National Pacific Insurance (NPI)/Tower Samoa | GGeneral (Non-life) | NPI / Tower | Foreign multinational | Central banks | Partial | 77 Confidence: Low |
| Tower Insurance (Samoa, Tonga, Cook Islands, Vanuatu)NZX: TWR Regional branches; Registered as Tower Insurance (Cook Islands) Limited | GGeneral (Non-life) | Tower Ltd | Foreign multinational | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Samoa Life Assurance CorpState-owned Registered as Samoa Life Assurance Corporation (SLAC) | LLife | Samoa Government | State-owned / parastatal | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Deseret Mutual Benefit (Samoa) Samoa licence LI1001. Register gives the address as the LDS Church, Pesega, Apia; ownership not researched.; Registered as Deseret Mutual Benefit; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | LLife | Parent not named in register | Foreign multinational | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Apia Insurance Co Ltd (Samoa) Samoa licence GI2003. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Apia Insurance Co Ltd | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Samoa Surety Insurance Ltd Samoa licence GI2005. Ownership not researched. | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Pacifica General Insurance Co Ltd (Samoa) Samoa licence GI2006. Ownership not researched. | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| AIA New Zealand Limited (Cook Islands) Cook Islands approved external insurer. New Zealand life insurer; ownership not researched.; Registered as AIA New Zealand Limited; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | LLife | Parent not named in register | Foreign multinational | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Chubb Insurance New Zealand Limited (Cook Islands) Cook Islands approved external insurer. New Zealand general insurer; ownership not researched.; Registered as Chubb Insurance New Zealand Limited; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Foreign multinational | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Agaricus Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Agaricus Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| AIB Risk Management Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as AIB Risk Management Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Ararat Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Ararat Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Argosy Cover Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Argosy Cover Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Contact Energy Risk Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Contact Energy Risk Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Cook Islands Captive Insurance Company (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Cook Islands Captive Insurance Company | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| EastPack Risk Management Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as EastPack Risk Management Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Feniks Indemnity RE Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Feniks Indemnity RE Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Gourmet Risk Management Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Gourmet Risk Management Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| JPG Captive Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as JPG Captive Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Juniper Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Juniper Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Kubera Risk Management Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Kubera Risk Management Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Meitaki Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Meitaki Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| MPAC Risk Management Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as MPAC Risk Management Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Napier Port IC Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Napier Port IC Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Ovation Risk Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Ovation Risk Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Pacific Catastrophe Risk Insurance Company (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Pacific Catastrophe Risk Insurance Company | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Providene Australia Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Providene Australia Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| P.F.I. Cover Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as P.F.I. Cover Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Prudencia (Asia-Pacific) Insurance Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Prudencia (Asia-Pacific) Insurance Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Red Stag Risk Management Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Red Stag Risk Management Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Seeka Risk Management Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Seeka Risk Management Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Southern Risk Management Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Southern Risk Management Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Summerset Risk Management Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Summerset Risk Management Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| TePuna Hihiko Risk Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as TePuna Hihiko Risk Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Vaka Insurance Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Vaka Insurance Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| WM Risk Management Limited (Cook Islands) Licensed captive insurer under the Cook Islands Captive Insurance Act 2013. Ownership not researched.; Registered as WM Risk Management Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Vancare Insurance Ltd (Vanuatu) RBV local insurance company. Class shown as general: the RBV register has no life category. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Vancare Insurance Ltd | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Alpha Insurance (Vanuatu) Limited RBV local insurance company. Class shown as general: the RBV register has no life category. Ownership not researched. | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Federal Pacific Insurance Vanuatu Ltd RBV local insurance company. Class shown as general: the RBV register has no life category. Ownership not researched. | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Capital Insurance Ltd (Vanuatu) RBV local insurance company. Class shown as general: the RBV register has no life category. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Capital Insurance Ltd | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| EverBest Re Corporation Ltd (Vanuatu) RBV's only listed reinsurer. Ownership not researched.; Registered as EverBest Re Corporation Ltd | RReinsurer | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Exsular Insurance Corporation Ltd (Vanuatu) RBV international (offshore) insurance licence; the register gives no line of business, so class is U. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Exsular Insurance Corporation Ltd | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| TGM Insurance Ltd (Vanuatu) RBV international (offshore) insurance licence; the register gives no line of business, so class is U. Ownership not researched.; Registered as TGM Insurance Ltd | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| CBI Insurance Ltd (Vanuatu) RBV international (offshore) insurance licence; the register gives no line of business, so class is U. Ownership not researched.; Registered as CBI Insurance Ltd | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Society of Lloyd's Underwriters (Vanuatu) RBV's only listed external insurance company. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Society of Lloyd's Underwriters; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Foreign multinational | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Biltmore Life Insurance Company Limited (Vanuatu) RBV licensed captive insurance company. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Biltmore Life Insurance Company Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Caledonian Insurance Co., Limited (Vanuatu) RBV licensed captive insurance company. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Caledonian Insurance Co., Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Oceania Insurance Limited (Vanuatu) RBV licensed captive insurance company. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Oceania Insurance Limited | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Platinum Insurance Ltd (Vanuatu) RBV licensed captive insurance company. Ownership not researched.; Registered as Platinum Insurance Ltd | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Central banks | Partial | — |
| Tower New Zealand Insurance (Solomon Islands) CBSI records country of incorporation and ownership as New Zealand.; Registered as Tower New Zealand Insurance Limited; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Foreign multinational | Central banks | Partial | — |
| QBE (International) Insurance (Solomon Islands) CBSI records country of incorporation and ownership as Australia.; Registered as QBE (International) Insurance Limited; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Foreign multinational | Central banks | Partial | — |
No insurers match that filter.
Popularity is an estimate of how often people search Google for each insurer, from 0 to 100; the bars show how confident the estimate is. Not a rating of the insurer. How the index works
Former and deregistered companies
Names once listed in Pacific Islands and no longer in use. A company that was renamed, merged or acquired is counted under the name it has today; the names below are counted in no total on this page.
| Former name | What happened | Listed today as |
|---|---|---|
| QBE Insurance (Vanuatu) | No longer on the register | Not recorded |
| Vanuatu Insurance | No longer on the register | Not recorded |




