Middle East & Gulf · IQ · IQD
Iraq
العراقܩܘܼܛܢܵܐکۆماری
40 licensed entities supervised by the Iraqi Insurance Diwan.
- Listed insurers
- 40
- Insurance classes
- 5
- Groups present
- 0

Reinsurance tax on foreign reinsurers
Latest available research by tax type. Treaty relief and transaction conditions can change the result.
- Iraq: Rate not established — Not verified · reviewed 2026-10-06
A sense of place
Beyond the numbers.
Heritage, places of work and the landscapes that connect them. Three selected references behind this artistic portrait.
Local names, languages & illustration notes
Selected local names and languages, with links to the references behind this artistic composition.
Iraq
- Arabic
- العراق
- Aramaic
- ܩܘܼܛܢܵܐ
- Central Kurdish
- کۆماری
Name reference: mledoze/countries · ODbL data · ODbL licence. Flag artwork: flag-icons · MIT.
By class of business
Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.
By ownership
Verification log
Verified - full register · Iraqi Insurance Diwan (Insurance Bureau, Ministry of Finance), 'Insurance companies' (شركات التأمين), retrieved 23 Sep 2026: 40 insurance companies on the Arabic page (39 on the English page, which omits Takaful Al-Iraq). The Diwan lists insurance brokerage companies, agents and experts on separate pages. Supplemented for licence class by the Insurance Bureau's notice of 23 Jul 2025, 'The position of insurance companies'.
Reconciled against the Iraqi Insurance Diwan's own 'Insurance companies' list (40 companies on its Arabic page, retrieved 23 Sep 2026): all 9 rows matched, 31 companies added, none removed. The list carries no licence numbers, dates or classes, so 22 of the additions are classCode U; the classes that are set come from the Diwan's own company profiles and from its licence-renewal notice of 23 Jul 2025, which also corrects Al-Khair from takaful to general.
Licensed insurers in Iraq
Scroll horizontally to compare columns.
| Company | Class | Parent / group | Ownership | Regulator | Verification | Popularity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ahlia Insurance Iraq Registered as شركة الاهلية للتأمين (Al Ahlia Insurance Company) | GGeneral (Non-life) | Ahlia | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Al-Ameen Insurance Registered as شركة الأمين للتأمين (Al-Amin Insurance Company) | CComposite | Al-Ameen | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Al-Hamraa Insurance Registered as شركة الحمراء للتأمين (Al Hamra Insurance Company) | CComposite | Al-Hamraa | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Dar Al-Salam Insurance | CComposite | Dar Al-Salam | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Gulf Insurance & Reinsurance (Iraq) Registered as شركة الخليج للتأمين (Gulf Insurance Company) | CComposite | Gulf | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Iraq Insurance CoState-owned Registered as شركة التأمين العراقية (Iraqi Insurance Company) | CComposite | Iraqi Government | State-owned / parastatal | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| National Insurance Co (Iraq)State-owned Registered as شركة التأمين الوطنية (National Insurance Company) | CComposite | Iraqi Government | State-owned / parastatal | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Iraq Reinsurance CoState-owned Registered as شركة اعاده التأمين العراقية العامة (Iraqi General Reinsurance Company) | RReinsurer | Iraqi Government | State-owned / parastatal | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | 46 Confidence: Low |
| Al-Khair Takaful Verify; Registered as شركة الخير للتأمين (Al-Khair Insurance Company) | GGeneral (Non-life) | Al-Khair | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Al-Wadq Insurance Company The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Star Kar Insurance Company The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Shatt Al Arab Insurance Company The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Al-Ittihad International Insurance Company The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Kurdistan International Insurance Company The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Iraq International Insurance Company The Diwan's own profile says the company practises all types of insurance except life insurance. Ownership not researched. | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Dilnia Insurance Company The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Branch of Bima Moallem Iranian Insurance Company The register lists it as a branch of the Iranian company Bima Moallem, licensed by Iran's Central Insurance. The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Bima Moallem Insurance Company | Foreign multinational | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Dar Al Thiqa Insurance Company The Diwan's profile names International Trust Group as a strategic participant, not as a parent. The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Middle East Insurance Company The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Iraqi Union Insurance Company The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Cihan Insurance Company Licence renewed 17 May 2025 to 17 May 2026 for general insurance and all its branches (the notice romanises the name as Jehan). Ownership not researched. | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Ur International Insurance Company The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Al Badia Insurance Company Licence renewed from 1 May 2025 for general insurance and all its branches. Ownership not researched. | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Asia Insurance Company The Diwan's own profile calls it the insurance arm of Farouk Holding Group and lists fire, general accidents, engineering, marine and group health - general classes only. Ownership not researched. | GGeneral (Non-life) | Farouk Holding Group | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Al-Maseer Insurance Company The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Al Yamamah Insurance Company The Diwan's own profile says it practises all types of insurance except life insurance. Ownership not researched. | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Kar Insurance Company Licence renewed 21 Apr 2025 to 20 Apr 2026 for general insurance and all its branches. Ownership not researched. | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Al Sharq Insurance Company The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Al Tadhamon Insurance Company The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Al-Andalus Insurance Company Licensed by the Insurance Bureau under no. 38/2018 per the Diwan's profile. The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| International Insurance Company The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Branch of Saman Iranian Insurance Company The register lists it as a branch of the Iranian company Saman Insurance. The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Saman Insurance Company | Foreign multinational | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Al-Wad Insurance Company Licence renewed 9 Apr 2025 to 9 Apr 2026 for general insurance and all its branches. The Diwan's profile records it as formerly Al-Ikhaa. Distinct from Al-Wadq Insurance Company. Ownership not researched. | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Dar Al-Aman Insurance Company The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Al Markaz Insurance Company The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Asia Gate Insurance Company The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Zain Insurance Company Licence renewed 6 Apr 2025 to 6 Apr 2026 for general insurance and all its branches. Ownership not researched. | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Albatek Insurance and Reinsurance Company The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Al-Sadiq Insurance Company The Diwan's list gives no licence class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched. | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
| Takaful Al-Iraq Insurance Company Listed only on the Arabic page of the register, as شركة تكافل العراق للتأمين التكافلي; the Diwan's English page omits it. The English company name here is a transliteration of the Arabic register name - the Diwan publishes no English form, and the company's own site (iraq-takaful.com) is Arabic only. The register name states takaful, so classCode T. Ownership not researched.; Registered as شركة تكافل العراق للتأمين التكافلي | TTakaful / Islamic | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | Iraqi Insurance Diwan | Verified | — |
No insurers match that filter.
Popularity is an estimate of how often people search Google for each insurer, from 0 to 100; the bars show how confident the estimate is. Not a rating of the insurer. How the index works




