HaitiCentral America & Caribbean · HT · HTG

Haiti

HaïtiAyiti

14 licensed entities supervised by the Ministère de l'Économie et des Finances — Unité de Supervision et de Contrôle des Assurances.

Not yet verified against the regulator register /api/v1/countries/haiti.json
Listed insurers
14
Insurance classes
4
Groups present
0
Illustrated collage of Haiti, inspired by Citadelle Laferrière, Cap-Haïtien, Pic la Selle.
Haiti
INSURERS.GLOBAL / HTAn illustrated portrait · AI-created artwork

A sense of place

Beyond the numbers.

Heritage, places of work and the landscapes that connect them. Three selected references behind this artistic portrait.

Local names, languages & illustration notes

Selected local names and languages, with links to the references behind this artistic composition.

HaitiHaiti

French
Haïti
Haitian Creole
Ayiti

Name reference: mledoze/countries · ODbL data · ODbL licence. Flag artwork: flag-icons · MIT.

By class of business

Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.

By ownership

  • Domestic private10 71%
  • Foreign multinational2 14%
  • Corporate parent (captive)1 7%
  • State-owned / parastatal1 7%

Verification log

Not verified - no current official register; historical MEF list, BRH directory, company reports and statutory OAVCT source; no complete current register · No current official register found. Best official list: MEF notice of May 2014 naming 11 authorised insurers — Ministère de l'Économie et des Finances (MEF), notice listing the insurers authorised to operate in Haiti (May 2014), as reported by Le Nouvelliste "Seulement 11 compagnies d'assurances peuvent effectuer des opérations sur le territoire" (26 May 2014, https://lenouvelliste.com/article/131541/Seulement-11-compagnies-dassurances-peuvent-effectuer-des-operations-sur-le-territoire) and reproduced by Image7 "Haïti: Compagnies d'assurance reconnues" (https://image7haiti.com/haiti-compagnies-dassurance-reconnues/) and HaitiLibre article 11267; retrieved 2026-09-26 (the MEF original was not retrieved, only press reproductions). Cross-checked against Banque de la République d'Haïti, "Compagnies d'assurance", https://www.brh.ht/supervision-bancaire/compagnies-dassurance/, retrieved 2026-09-26 (lists PROFASA, Assurance Leger, Compagnie d'Assurance d'Haiti, Groupement Francais d'Assurance, Alternative Insurance Company, plus the Association des Assureurs d'Haïti) and Haiti-Référence, "5500.- Compagnies et Agences d'Assurances" (revised 18 September 2024), https://www.haiti-reference.info/pages/plan/sante-et-bien-etre-social/assurances/, retrieved 2026-09-26. Law and supervisory arrangement: HDIT Cabinet Volmar, "Les 60 ans de la loi sur les compagnies d'assurances" (https://hditcabinetvolmar.com/fr/les-60-ans-de-la-loi-sur-les-compagnies-dassurances/) and the BRH review cited in search results, retrieved 2026-09-26. Added statutory provider evidence: Office d'Assurance Véhicules Contre Tiers (OAVCT), official government website, Histoire, Mission and Fonctions principales: https://oavct.gouv.ht/ ; checked 2026-09-27. The institution describes its creation by decree of 21 September 1967, public legal personality, compulsory motor third-party policy issuance and claims compensation. This is a statutory public provider source, not a commercial insurance licence register. Company operating evidence refreshed on 2026-09-27; sources in each row.

14 entries: 11 names from the 2014 MEF notice, PROFASA and Groupement Français d'Assurance from BRH, and public motor third-party provider OAVCT from its government website. All retain the unverified badge. Company reports corroborate some operations but do not certify current licences. National Western stopped accepting international new business in 2018; inclusion does not imply new-policy availability. Onyx, Haiti Securite and L'Atout retain historical evidence only. GFA Haiti identity and any overseas affiliation remain unresolved. The industry association, brokers, OFATMA and ONA are excluded; the latter two are social-insurance institutions. OAVCT is included for issuing motor policies and paying claims. No market completeness claim or current commercial licence is inferred.

Licensed insurers in Haiti

CompanyClassParent / groupOwnershipRegulatorVerificationPopularity
Les Assurances Léger S.A
ALSA; founded 1994 per Haiti-Référence; class not stated by the source, G assumed; Ownership not researched Evidence review 2026-09-27: BRH still names Assurance Leger; no current MEF licence confirmation established.
GGeneral (Non-life)Parent not named in registerDomestic privateMEF / USCAUnverified—
La Compagnie d'Assurance d'Haïti S.A
CAH; incorporated 1978 by ALICO (AIG), sold in 1993 to the Haitian holding GFD; writes life, health and property & casualty; absorbed Multi-Assurances S.A. (MAVSA) in 2000 Evidence review 2026-09-27: Company product website corroborates operations; it does not verify current MEF authorisation.
CCompositeGroupe Financier Dynamique (GFD)Domestic privateMEF / USCAUnverified—
Alternative Insurance Company
AIC; founded 2001; multi-line (life/health and P&C) per the company; family-founded, with outside investors since 2011; parent not named Evidence review 2026-09-27: Company website corroborates operations; it does not verify current MEF authorisation.
CCompositeParent not named in registerDomestic privateMEF / USCAUnverified—
Haïti Sécurité Assurance S.A
Class not stated, G assumed; Ownership not researched Evidence review 2026-09-27: no current primary-source licence confirmation established; historical listing retained as unverified, not evidence of current authorisation.
GGeneral (Non-life)Parent not named in registerDomestic privateMEF / USCAUnverified—
Internationale Assurance S.A
INASSA; the people-insurance (life/health) arm of NASSAGROUP; strategic alliance with Universal (Dominican Republic) since 2011 Evidence review 2026-09-27: Group subsidiary and product pages corroborate operations; not a regulator register.
LLifeNASSAGROUPDomestic privateMEF / USCAUnverified—
Nationale d'Assurance S.A
NASSA; the property-insurance arm of NASSAGROUP Evidence review 2026-09-27: Group motor-insurance page corroborates operations; not a regulator register.
GGeneral (Non-life)NASSAGROUPDomestic privateMEF / USCAUnverified—
National Western Life Insurance Co.
US life insurer authorised in the 2014 MEF notice; not a Haitian subsidiary; parent from market knowledge, not stated in the register Evidence review 2026-09-27: The 2022 company filing identifies Haiti authorisation and states that international new business ceased in 2018. Inclusion must not imply availability for new policies; current Haiti licence and servicing arrangements are unverified.
LLifeNational Western Life GroupForeign multinationalMEF / USCAUnverified—
L'Atout Assurance S.A
Class not stated, G assumed; Ownership not researched Evidence review 2026-09-27: no current primary-source licence confirmation established; historical listing retained as unverified, not evidence of current authorisation.
GGeneral (Non-life)Parent not named in registerDomestic privateMEF / USCAUnverified—
SogeAssurance S.A
Founded 27 August 2012; member of Groupe Sogebank; class C on the group's description of personal and business cover — confirm Evidence review 2026-09-27: The parent 2024-25 annual report corroborates 2025 subsidiary operations; not a current regulator licence confirmation.
CCompositeGroupe SogebankDomestic privateMEF / USCAUnverified—
UniAssurance S.A
Also spelled UniAssurances S.A.; registered 2008; life, health, motor, home and commercial multi-risk; member of Groupe Financier National Evidence review 2026-09-27: Parent subsidiary report corroborates operations for the year ended September 2025; not a current regulator licence confirmation.
CCompositeGroupe Financier National (Unibank)Domestic privateMEF / USCAUnverified—
Onyx Assuranc S.A
Listed as "(captive)" in the 2014 MEF notice; name spelled "Assuranc" in the reproduced notice (probably "Onyx Assurance S.A"); Ownership not researched Evidence review 2026-09-27: no current primary-source licence confirmation established; historical listing retained as unverified, not evidence of current authorisation.
KCaptive / Risk retention groupParent not named in registerCorporate parent (captive)MEF / USCAUnverified—
Professionnelle d'Assurance S.A.
PROFASA; not in the 2014 MEF list; search results give the name as "Profasa Assurance IARD S.A.", so non-life; Ownership not researched Evidence review 2026-09-27: BRH still lists PROFASA; no newer primary operating evidence or current MEF licence confirmation established.
GGeneral (Non-life)Parent not named in registerDomestic privateMEF / USCAUnverified—
Groupement Français d'Assurance
Listed on the BRH page; not in the 2014 MEF list. Evidence review 2026-09-27: BRH lists this name, but its current presence and legal identity in Haiti are unverified. No relationship with Generali or GFA Caraibes is established for this entry.
GGeneral (Non-life)Parent not named in registerForeign multinationalMEF / USCAUnverified—
Office d'Assurance Véhicules Contre Tiers (OAVCT)State-owned
Statutory public motor third-party insurance provider, included for its policy-issuing and claims-paying role. Not a commercial company licence claim. Government ownership and non-life class follow the institution's stated legal form and motor liability mandate. Market remains unverified because no complete current official insurer register was found.
GGeneral (Non-life)GovernmentState-owned / parastatalMEF / USCAUnverified—

Popularity is an estimate of how often people search Google for each insurer, from 0 to 100; the bars show how confident the estimate is. Not a rating of the insurer. How the index works

Central America & Caribbean

Another place. A new perspective.

Explore the region