Indian Ocean · MU · MUR
Mauritius
MauriceMoris
32 licensed entities supervised by the Financial Services Commission.
- Listed insurers
- 32
- Insurance classes
- 4
- Groups present
- 3

A sense of place
Beyond the numbers.
Heritage, places of work and the landscapes that connect them. Three selected references behind this artistic portrait.
Local names, languages & illustration notes
Selected local names and languages, with links to the references behind this artistic composition.
Mauritius
- English
- Mauritius
- French
- Maurice
- Morisyen
- Moris
Name reference: mledoze/countries · ODbL data · ODbL licence. Flag artwork: flag-icons · MIT.
By class of business
Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.
By ownership
Verification log
Verified - full register: FSC Online Public Register captured by the owner on 27-28 Sep 2026 across its insurance and captive activity filters (INS-1.1, INS-1.1Av, INS-1.2, INS-1.3, INS-1.3Av, CI-1.1 and CI-1.1A) · FSC Mauritius Online Public Register, filtered by activity: INS-1.1 (8), INS-1.1Av (2), INS-1.2 (14), INS-1.3 (3), INS-1.3Av (2), CI-1.1 (2) and CI-1.1A (3), each with its row-count footer; screenshots taken by the owner in a browser, 27-28 Sep 2026. FSC public notice of 17 Oct 2025 approving the Jubilee Allianz amalgamation
Reconciled against the FSC Online Public Register as captured by the owner on 27-28 Sep 2026 across its insurance and captive licence types: 13 rows matched, 19 licensees added and 4 removed. Jubilee Allianz General Insurance (Mauritius) was amalgamated into Sanlam General Insurance, now SanlamAllianz General Insurance, on 29 Sep 2025 (FSC public notice of 17 Oct 2025).
How to read the classes
The FSC register entry does not state a class of business or a parent group for 4 of these 32 entities. Where shown, class and group were inferred from the entity name (see the “basis” line on each insurer page). “Not stated in register” means the name gave no signal; most such undertakings write non-life or composite business.
Licensed insurers in Mauritius
Scroll horizontally to compare columns.
| Company | Class | Parent / group | Ownership | Regulator | Verification | Popularity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GFA Insurance Registered as G.F.A Insurance Ltd | GGeneral (Non-life) | Independent | Domestic private | FSC | Verified | — |
| Lamco International Insurance | GGeneral (Non-life) | Independent | Domestic private | FSC | Verified | — |
| Mauritian Eagle Insurance Registered as EAGLE INSURANCE LIMITED | GGeneral (Non-life) | IBL Group | Domestic private | FSC | Verified | — |
| Mauritius Union Assurance (MUA)SEM: MUA Also Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Seychelles; Registered as THE MAURITIUS UNION ASSURANCE CY. LTD | GGeneral (Non-life) | MUA (Mauritius Union) | Pan-African group | FSC | Verified | — |
| NIC General InsuranceState-owned Successor to BAI | GGeneral (Non-life) | National Insurance Co (Government) | State-owned / parastatal | FSC | Verified | — |
| Phoenix Insurance (Mauritius) | GGeneral (Non-life) | Independent | Domestic private | FSC | Verified | — |
| Quantum Insurance | GGeneral (Non-life) | Independent | Domestic private | FSC | Verified | — |
| SICOM General InsuranceState-owned State Insurance Co of Mauritius | GGeneral (Non-life) | SICOM Group | State-owned / parastatal | FSC | Verified | — |
| Swan GeneralSEM: SWAN SEM-listed | GGeneral (Non-life) | Swan Group | Domestic private | FSC | Verified | — |
| MUA LifeSEM: MUA | LLife | MUA (Mauritius Union) | Pan-African group | FSC | Verified | — |
| NIC LifeState-owned Registered as NATIONAL INSURANCE CO. LTD | LLife | National Insurance Co (Government) | State-owned / parastatal | FSC | Verified | — |
| SICOM LifeState-owned Registered as State Insurance Company of Mauritius Ltd | LLife | SICOM Group | State-owned / parastatal | FSC | Verified | — |
| Swan LifeSEM: SWAN Formerly Anglo-Mauritius | LLife | Swan Group | Domestic private | FSC | Verified | — |
| Swan Special Risks CompanySEM: SWAN Parent inferred from name; ownership not researched | GGeneral (Non-life) | Swan Group | Ownership unverified | FSC | Verified | — |
| The New India Assurance Company (Mauritius branch)NSE: NIACL Branch of the Indian insurer; ownership type inferred from name; Registered as The New India Assurance Company Ltd | GGeneral (Non-life) | New India Assurance | Ownership unverified | FSC | Verified | — |
| Indian Ocean General Assurance Ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | GGeneral (Non-life) | Parent not named in register | Ownership unverified | FSC | Verified | — |
| Credit Guarantee Insurance Co Class inferred from name; credit insurer; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Ownership unverified | FSC | Verified | — |
| Afri Life Insurance Ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | LLife | Parent not named in register | Ownership unverified | FSC | Verified | — |
| Island Life Assurance Co Ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | LLife | Parent not named in register | Ownership unverified | FSC | Verified | — |
| Life Insurance Corporation of India (Mauritius branch)BSE: 543526 Branch of the Indian insurer; ownership type inferred from name; Registered as Life Insurance Corporation of India | LLife | Life Insurance Corp of India | Ownership unverified | FSC | Verified | — |
| Providence Life PCC Protected cell company, long-term; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Ownership unverified | FSC | Verified | — |
| International Assurance PCC Protected cell company, long-term; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Ownership unverified | FSC | Verified | — |
| Guardrisk Insurance Company Mauritius PCC Protected cell company, external business; parent inferred from name, group not researched | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Guardrisk | Ownership unverified | FSC | Verified | — |
| Santam Structured Insurance PCC Protected cell company, external business; parent inferred from name, group not researched | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Santam | Ownership unverified | FSC | Verified | — |
| SanlamAllianz General Insurance Surviving entity of the Jubilee Allianz amalgamation (FSC notice of 17 Oct 2025, as Sanlam General Insurance Limited); parent inferred from name | GGeneral (Non-life) | Sanlam AllianzIAIG | Ownership unverified | FSC | Verified | — |
| Master Drilling Captive Captive; listed under both captive licence types; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Ownership unverified | FSC | Verified | — |
| ProtectSure Captive Insurance Company Captive; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Ownership unverified | FSC | Verified | — |
| Capfin Africa Captive; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Ownership unverified | FSC | Verified | — |
| Global Insurance (Mauritius) Captive; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | XSpecialty / Credit / Captive | Parent not named in register | Ownership unverified | FSC | Verified | — |
| Healthguard International Class inferred from name; external insurance business; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | HHealth / Medical | Parent not named in register | Ownership unverified | FSC | Verified | — |
| Expacare Insurance Company (Mauritius) Class inferred from name; external insurance business; ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | HHealth / Medical | Parent not named in register | Ownership unverified | FSC | Verified | — |
| Guardrisk Life International Class inferred from name; external insurance business; parent inferred from name, group not researched | LLife | Guardrisk | Ownership unverified | FSC | Verified | — |
No insurers match that filter.
Popularity is an estimate of how often people search Google for each insurer, from 0 to 100; the bars show how confident the estimate is. Not a rating of the insurer. How the index works
Former and deregistered companies
Names once listed in Mauritius and no longer in use. A company that was renamed, merged or acquired is counted under the name it has today; the names below are counted in no total on this page.
| Former name | What happened | Listed today as |
|---|---|---|
| Island General Insurance | No longer on the register | Not recorded |
| Jubilee Allianz General Insurance Mauritius | Merged 29 September 2025 | SanlamAllianz General Insurance |
| LIC (Mauritius) Offshore | No longer on the register | Not recorded |
| Rainbow Insurance | Failed 10 December 2007 | Not recorded |
| Sun Insurance Co | No longer on the register | Not recorded |



