CongoCentral Africa · CG · XAF

Republic of the Congo

République du CongoRepubilika ya KongoRepublíki ya Kongó

6 licensed entities supervised by the CIMA (regional) / Direction des Assurances.

Listed insurers
6
Insurance classes
3
Groups present
2
Illustrated collage of Republic of the Congo, inspired by Basilica of Sainte-Anne-du-Congo in Brazzaville, Pointe-Noire, Odzala-Kokoua National Park.
Congo
INSURERS.GLOBAL / CGAn illustrated portrait · AI-created artwork

A sense of place

Beyond the numbers.

Heritage, places of work and the landscapes that connect them. Three selected references behind this artistic portrait.

Local names, languages & illustration notes

Selected local names and languages, with links to the references behind this artistic composition.

CongoCongo

French
République du Congo
Kongo
Repubilika ya Kongo
Lingala
Republíki ya Kongó

Name reference: mledoze/countries · ODbL data · ODbL licence. Flag artwork: flag-icons · MIT.

By class of business

Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.

By ownership

  • Domestic private3 50%
  • Pan-African group2 33%
  • State-owned / parastatal1 17%

Verification log

Partially verified - the DGIFN's "Liste des societes d'assurance agrees" is official but undated, its row numbering skips one entry (1,2,3,4,5,7), and it names no life company although the CIMA Code requires life and non-life to be separately licensed · Direction Generale des Institutions Financieres Nationales (DGIFN), Ministere des Finances, du Budget et du Portefeuille Public de la Republique du Congo - the section "LISTE DES SOCIETES D'ASSURANCE AGREES" of its Assujettis page, retrieved 23 Sep 2026: 6 entities. The DGIFN is the ministry directorate that supervises insurance companies and intermediaries (Decret n.2024-93 du 6 mars 2024; its "direction des assurances et des institutions de sécurité sociale" sits inside it), and www.dgifn.cg is the site the ministry itself points to. The table carries no date; the logo images in its SIGLE column were uploaded under /wp-content/uploads/2025/01/, and the companion lists on the same page are labelled "2021 - 2022".

Reconciled against the DGIFN's "Liste des societes d'assurance agrees" (www.dgifn.cg/index.php/assujettis/, retrieved 23 Sep 2026), which names six licensed insurance companies. Three rows matched; three companies added (L'Africaine des Assurances Congo, Sunu IARD, AMC Assurances); one row, Sanlam Allianz Congo, is proposed for removal as LR (left the register, cause not established). The list is undated, its numbering skips one entry and it names no life company, so it is treated as partial: the classes of the matched rows are left unchanged, and the removal is flagged in caveats for human confirmation before it is applied.

Licensed insurers in Republic of the Congo

Scroll horizontally to compare columns.

CompanyClassParent / groupOwnershipRegulatorVerificationPopularity
AGC (Assurances Generales du Congo)
Registered as ASSURANCES GENERALES DU CONGO
CCompositeIndependentDomestic privateCIMA / CRCAPartial—
ARC (Assurances et Reassurances du Congo)State-owned
Registered as ASSURANCES ET REASSURANCES DU CONGO
CCompositeGovernment of CongoState-owned / parastatalCIMA / CRCAPartial—
NSIA Assurances Congo
Registered as NSIA
CCompositeNSIA GroupPan-African groupCIMA / CRCAPartial55 Confidence: Low
L'Africaine des Assurances Congo
The register gives no class and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. The logo the DGIFN publishes for this entry reads "L'AFRICAINE DES ASSURANCES - CONGO BRAZZAVILLE" (saved as ev/republic-of-congo/logos/3-1.png). Ownership not researched.; Registered as AFRICAINE DES ASSURANCES CONGO
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateCIMA / CRCAPartial—
Sunu IARD
"IARD" (incendie, accidents et risques divers) is the CIMA term for non-life, so the register's own entry settles the class as G. Group taken from the register's own company name and the logo the DGIFN publishes for this entry, which reads "SUNU Assurances" (ev/republic-of-congo/logos/5.png); ownership not otherwise researched. Reviewer note: the company name was "Sunu IARD Congo" as first written; the "Congo" token appears nowhere in the evidence, so it was cut back to the register's own name.
GGeneral (Non-life)Sunu GroupPan-African groupCIMA / CRCAPartial—
AMC Assurances
The register gives only the acronym "AMC"; the logo the DGIFN publishes for this entry reads "AMC ASSURANCES" (saved as ev/republic-of-congo/logos/7-1.jpg). No class is given and the name does not settle it, so classCode is U. Ownership not researched.; Registered as AMC
UNot stated in registerParent not named in registerDomestic privateCIMA / CRCAPartial—

Popularity is an estimate of how often people search Google for each insurer, from 0 to 100; the bars show how confident the estimate is. Not a rating of the insurer. How the index works

Former and deregistered companies

Names once listed in Republic of the Congo and no longer in use. A company that was renamed, merged or acquired is counted under the name it has today; the names below are counted in no total on this page.

Former nameWhat happenedListed today as
Sanlam Allianz CongoNo longer on the registerNot recorded

Central Africa

Another place. A new perspective.

Explore the region