New Zealand · Oceania · class U
Not stated in register insurance companies in New Zealand
27 licensed not stated in register insurers, 33% of the 81 insurance entities supervised by the Reserve Bank of New Zealand / FMA. Solvency II undertakings whose register entry carries no class of business; usually non-life or composite.
| Company | Class | Parent / group | Ownership | Regulator | Verification | Popularity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ACS (NZ) Limited Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2012-02-27; rating: rating not required; exemptions: S60(2A). Provisionally licensed under s246(1A) (register footnote ***). ownership not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| Aioi Nissay Dowa Insurance Company Limited Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-03-12; rating: A.M. Best A+; S&P A+; exemptions: S38, S59. Japanese insurer operating in NZ (domicile from name); DO is a placeholder. ownership not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| Beneficial Insurance Limited Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-02-27; rating: A.M. Best B++. ownership not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| Booster Assurance Limited Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-05-08; rating: rating not required. ownership not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| Brightsideco Insurance Limited Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-05-30; rating: rating not required; exemptions: S60(2A). ownership not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| CBL Insurance Limited Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-09-04; rating: rating not required. The register lists it as "(In Liquidation)"; still on the register of licensed insurers. ownership not researched; Registered as CBL Insurance Limited (In Liquidation) | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| Factory Mutual Insurance Company Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2015-10-05; rating: A.M. Best A+; S&P A+; Fitch AA; exemptions: S38, S59. Mutual by its name (groupTypeCode MU); overseas insurer; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Mutual / cooperative | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| Great Lakes Insurance SE Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-04-02; rating: A.M. Best A+; S&P AA; exemptions: S38, S59. European SE operating in NZ; FM from domicile. ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Foreign multinational | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| HDI Global Specialty SE Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2021-03-31; rating: A.M. Best A+; S&P AA; exemptions: S38, S59. European SE operating in NZ; FM from domicile. ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Foreign multinational | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| Helia Insurance Pty Ltd Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-04-18; rating: S&P A; Fitch A; exemptions: S38, S59. Australian company operating in NZ (domicile from name); DO is a placeholder. ownership not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| Medical Insurance Society Limited Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-05-27; rating: S&P A. One of two MAS licensees (see removal of row 155); group from the Medical ... Society name it shares with row 155, whose group is MAS / MU | UNot stated in register | MAS | Mutual / cooperative | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| Mitsui Sumitomo Insurance Company Limited Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-03-25; rating: A.M. Best A+; S&P A+; exemptions: S38, S59. Japanese insurer operating in NZ (domicile from name); DO is a placeholder. ownership not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| NorthStandard Limited Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2018-10-09; rating: S&P A; exemptions: S38, S59. Overseas insurer (exemptions S38, S59); DO is a placeholder. ownership not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| Pacific International Insurance Pty Ltd Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-09-04; rating: A.M. Best B++; exemptions: S38, S59. Australian company operating in NZ (domicile from name); DO is a placeholder. ownership not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| PPS Mutual Limited Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2025-07-14; rating: A.M. Best B+. Mutual by its name (groupTypeCode MU); licensed 14 Jul 2025; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Mutual / cooperative | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| SCOR SE Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2019-01-16; rating: rating not required; exemptions: S38. European SE operating in NZ; FM from domicile. ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Foreign multinational | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| Selacs Insurance Limited Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-07-31; rating: rating not required. ownership not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| Southern Cross Benefits Limited Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-02-19; rating: S&P A. Group from its name; groupTypeCode follows row 179 (Southern Cross, MU) | UNot stated in register | Southern Cross | Mutual / cooperative | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| T&G Insurance Limited Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2017-11-21; rating: rating not required. ownership not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| Teal Insurance Limited Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-05-29; rating: rating not required. ownership not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| The Hollard Insurance Company Pty Ltd Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2016-01-14; rating: S&P A; exemptions: S38, S59. Group from its name; FM follows the Hollard rows 159/168 (removed as brands). Australian company operating in NZ | UNot stated in register | Hollard Group | Foreign multinational | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| The New India Assurance Company Limited Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-02-26; rating: A.M. Best B++; exemptions: S38, S59. Indian insurer operating in NZ (domicile from name); DO is a placeholder (reported state-owned; not researched). ownership not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| Tiaki Toa Limited Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2025-09-09; rating: rating not required. Licensed 9 Sep 2025. ownership not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| Tokio Marine & Nichido Fire Insurance Co., Ltd.TSE: 8766 Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-03-11; rating: A.M. Best A++; S&P A+; Fitch AA-; exemptions: S38, S59. Japanese insurer operating in NZ; DO is a placeholder | UNot stated in register | Tokio MarineIAIG | Domestic private | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| Unison Insurance Limited Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-07-22; rating: rating not required. ownership not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Domestic private | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| Veterinary Professional Insurance Society Inc Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-07-15; rating: A.M. Best B. Incorporated society by its name (groupTypeCode MU); Registered as Veterinary Professional Insurance Society Incorporated; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Mutual / cooperative | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
| Virginia Surety Company Inc Register gives no class and the name does not settle it (U). Licence effective 2013-06-27; rating: A.M. Best A+; exemptions: S38, S59. US company operating in NZ; FM from domicile. ownership not researched; Ownership type inferred from name; parent not researched | UNot stated in register | Parent not named in register | Foreign multinational | RBNZ / FMA | Verified | — |
No insurers match that filter.
Popularity is an estimate of how often people search Google for each insurer, from 0 to 100; the bars show how confident the estimate is. Not a rating of the insurer. How the index works
About not stated in register insurers in New Zealand
How many not stated in register insurers are licensed in New Zealand?
27 of the 81 licensed insurance entities in New Zealand are classified as not stated in register (33%), according to the RBNZ / FMA register as reflected in this directory (verified - full register).
Who regulates not stated in register insurers in New Zealand?
Reserve Bank of New Zealand / FMA (RBNZ / FMA). Regime: Insurance (Prudential Supervision) Act 2010 (IPSA). Official website: https://rbnz.govt.nz.
Who owns the not stated in register insurers in New Zealand?
Of the 27 licensed not stated in register insurers in New Zealand, 17 are domestic private companies, 5 are subsidiaries of foreign multinational groups (Hollard Group), and 5 are mutual or cooperative insurers, as recorded in the register.
Data: /api/v1/countries/new-zealand.json (filter by class = "not-stated-in-register"). Licence CC BY 4.0, attribute KAFS North America.