Register export · Asia-Pacific · Oceania · NZ

RBNZ / FMA register: licensed insurers in New Zealand

VerifiedVerified against the RBNZ / FMA register, checked 4 Sept 2026.

The RBNZ / FMA register for New Zealand as the directory holds it: 81 licensed insurers with the identifiers the register carries, ready to export as JSON.

Snapshot

By class of business

Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.

By ownership

  • Domestic private34 42%
  • Foreign multinational32 40%
  • Mutual / cooperative12 15%
  • State-owned / parastatal2 2%
  • Regional / multilateral1 1%

“Cross-border groups” counts foreign multinationals and pan-regional groups; “domestically owned” counts domestic private, state-owned, mutual and captive entities. The register records the parent’s type, not its home market. How ownership is recorded

RBNZ / FMA register rows

All 81 entities.

InsurerClassRegister idLEIRegisteredWebsiteVerification
AIA New ZealandLLife————Verified
AIG Insurance New ZealandGGeneral (Non-life)————Verified
Allianz Australia NZ branchGGeneral (Non-life)————Verified
Berkshire Hathaway Specialty NZGGeneral (Non-life)————Verified
Chubb Insurance New ZealandGGeneral (Non-life)————Verified
Chubb Life NZ (ex-Cigna)LLife————Verified
Gen Re NZRReinsurer————Verified
Hannover Life Re of Australasia NZRReinsurer————Verified
Munich Re NZRReinsurer————Verified
Munich Reinsurance Company of Australasia LimitedRReinsurer————Verified
Partners LifeLLife————Verified
QBE Insurance (Australia) NZ branchGGeneral (Non-life)————Verified
QBE Lenders' Mortgage Insurance LimitedXSpecialty / Credit / Captive————Verified
RGA NZRReinsurer————Verified
Swiss Re Life & Health NZRReinsurer————Verified
Tokio Marine & Nichido Fire Insurance Co., Ltd.UNot stated in register————Verified
Zurich Australian Insurance NZ branchGGeneral (Non-life)————Verified
Asteron Life NZLLife————Verified
IAG New ZealandGGeneral (Non-life)————Verified
Lloyd's (NZ)GGeneral (Non-life)————Verified
nib nzHHealth / Medical————Verified
Resolution Life Australasia LimitedLLife————Verified
Resolution Life NZLLife————Verified
The Hollard Insurance Company Pty LtdUNot stated in register————Verified
Tower InsuranceGGeneral (Non-life)————Verified
Vero Insurance New ZealandGGeneral (Non-life)————Verified
AA InsuranceGGeneral (Non-life)————Verified
ACC (Accident Compensation Corp)XSpecialty / Credit / Captive————Verified
ACS (NZ) LimitedUNot stated in register————Verified
Aioi Nissay Dowa Insurance Company LimitedUNot stated in register————Verified
American Income Life Insurance CompanyLLife————Verified
Atradius Credito y Caucion S.A. de Seguros y ReasegurosXSpecialty / Credit / Captive————Verified
Autosure (Provident)GGeneral (Non-life)————Verified
Beneficial Insurance LimitedUNot stated in register————Verified
Booster Assurance LimitedUNot stated in register————Verified
Brightsideco Insurance LimitedUNot stated in register————Verified
CBL Insurance LimitedUNot stated in register————Verified
CentrePort Captive Insurance LimitedXSpecialty / Credit / Captive————Verified
Co-operative LifeLLife————Verified
Compagnie Francaise d'Assurance pour le Commerce ExterieurXSpecialty / Credit / Captive————Verified
Factory Mutual Insurance CompanyUNot stated in register————Verified
Fidelity LifeLLife————Verified
First American Title Insurance Company of Australia Pty LtdXSpecialty / Credit / Captive————Verified
FMG (Farmers' Mutual Group)GGeneral (Non-life)————Verified
General Reinsurance Life Australia LtdRReinsurer————Verified
Great Lakes Insurance SEUNot stated in register————Verified
Hallmark General Insurance Company LtdGGeneral (Non-life)————Verified
Hallmark Life Insurance Company LtdLLife————Verified
HDI Global Specialty SEUNot stated in register————Verified
Helia Insurance Pty LtdUNot stated in register————Verified
Indemnity and General Insurance Company LimitedGGeneral (Non-life)————Verified
Medical Insurance Society LimitedUNot stated in register————Verified
Medical Life Assurance Society LimitedLLife————Verified
Meridian Energy Captive Insurance LimitedXSpecialty / Credit / Captive————Verified
Mitsui Sumitomo Insurance Company LimitedUNot stated in register————Verified
Momentum LifeLLife————Verified
New Zealand Medical Indemnity Insurance LimitedGGeneral (Non-life)————Verified
NorthStandard LimitedUNot stated in register————Verified
Pacific International Insurance Pty LtdUNot stated in register————Verified
Pinnacle LifeLLife————Verified
Police Health Plan LimitedHHealth / Medical————Verified
PPS Mutual LimitedUNot stated in register————Verified
Provident InsuranceGGeneral (Non-life)————Verified
Quest InsuranceGGeneral (Non-life)————Verified
Risk Reinsurance LimitedRReinsurer————Verified
SCOR SEUNot stated in register————Verified
Selacs Insurance LimitedUNot stated in register————Verified
Southern Cross Benefits LimitedUNot stated in register————Verified
Southern Cross Medical Care SocietyHHealth / Medical————Verified
Southern Cross Pet Insurance LimitedGGeneral (Non-life)————Verified
Southsure AssuranceLLife————Verified
T&G Insurance LimitedUNot stated in register————Verified
Teal Insurance LimitedUNot stated in register————Verified
The New India Assurance Company LimitedUNot stated in register————Verified
Tiaki Toa LimitedUNot stated in register————Verified
Toka Tu Ake EQC (Natural Hazards Commission)XSpecialty / Credit / Captive————Verified
Union Medical Benefits Society LimitedHHealth / Medical————Verified
Unison Insurance LimitedUNot stated in register————Verified
Vero Liability Insurance LimitedGGeneral (Non-life)————Verified
Veterinary Professional Insurance Society IncUNot stated in register————Verified
Virginia Surety Company IncUNot stated in register————Verified

Full table for New Zealand ↗

Regulatory intelligence: New Zealand

Read from the register, not written for this page: the supervisor’s regime, the source the list was checked against, and the market notes recorded alongside it.

Regime
Insurance (Prudential Supervision) Act 2010 (IPSA)
Register source
RBNZ Register of New Zealand licensed insurers, last updated 26 Aug 2026 (page saved by the owner on 23 Sep 2026): 79 licensed insurers
Verification
Verified against the regulator register · RBNZ Register of New Zealand licensed insurers, last updated 26 Aug 2026 (page saved by the owner on 23 Sep 2026): 79 licensed insurers

No market event is recorded against this register for 2026. The regime and source above are the standing facts.

Governing legislation

  • Insurance (Prudential Supervision) Act 2010 · Institutional and insurance framework

    RBNZ prudentially supervises insurers under IPSA, with boards and senior management primarily responsible for their businesses. Conduct regulation also involves the FMA.

Verification log

Reconciled against the RBNZ register of 79 licensed insurers (last updated 26 Aug 2026, page saved by the owner): 32 rows matched, 47 licensees added (overseas insurers operating in NZ, captives, the second MAS, Gen Re, Munich Re and Southern Cross entities, Hollard, Union Medical Benefits), 14 rows removed (brands such as Ando, Initio, Cove, Accuro and UniMed that are not licensees, Foundation Life whose licence was cancelled on 4 May 2026, and rows absent from the register), ACC and the Natural Hazards Commission kept as statutory bodies outside the register. The register gives no class, so added classes come from names only and many are U.

For B2B teams and AI agents

The same rows as static JSON, no key, CORS open, CC BY 4.0. Paged files stay under 96 KB so an agent’s fetch tool never truncates them.

curl -s https://insurers.global/api/v1/countries/new-zealand.json
curl -s https://insurers.global/api/v1/countries/new-zealand/insurers/pages/1.json