Licensed list · Asia-Pacific · Oceania · NZ

Licensed insurance companies in New Zealand (2026)

VerifiedVerified against the RBNZ / FMA register, checked 4 Sept 2026.

The 81 insurance companies licensed in New Zealand in 2026, as recorded by the Reserve Bank of New Zealand / FMA (RBNZ / FMA), with the class of business and ownership each one is registered under.

Snapshot

By class of business

Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.

By ownership

  • Domestic private34 42%
  • Foreign multinational32 40%
  • Mutual / cooperative12 15%
  • State-owned / parastatal2 2%
  • Regional / multilateral1 1%

“Cross-border groups” counts foreign multinationals and pan-regional groups; “domestically owned” counts domestic private, state-owned, mutual and captive entities. The register records the parent’s type, not its home market. How ownership is recorded

Licensed insurers in New Zealand

Showing 25 of 81 entities. The full, filterable table is on the country page; every row is in the JSON below.

InsurerClassOwnershipGroupVerification
AIA New ZealandLLifeForeign multinationalAIA GroupVerified
AIG Insurance New ZealandGGeneral (Non-life)Foreign multinationalAIGVerified
Allianz Australia NZ branchGGeneral (Non-life)Foreign multinationalAllianzVerified
Berkshire Hathaway Specialty NZGGeneral (Non-life)Foreign multinationalBerkshire HathawayVerified
Chubb Insurance New ZealandGGeneral (Non-life)Foreign multinationalChubbVerified
Chubb Life NZ (ex-Cigna)LLifeForeign multinationalChubbVerified
Gen Re NZRReinsurerForeign multinationalBerkshire HathawayVerified
Hannover Life Re of Australasia NZRReinsurerForeign multinationalTalanxVerified
Munich Re NZRReinsurerForeign multinationalMunich ReVerified
Munich Reinsurance Company of Australasia LimitedRReinsurerForeign multinationalMunich ReVerified
Partners LifeLLifeForeign multinationalDai-ichi LifeVerified
QBE Insurance (Australia) NZ branchGGeneral (Non-life)Foreign multinationalQBEVerified
QBE Lenders' Mortgage Insurance LimitedXSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveForeign multinationalQBEVerified
RGA NZRReinsurerForeign multinationalRGAVerified
Swiss Re Life & Health NZRReinsurerForeign multinationalSwiss ReVerified
Tokio Marine & Nichido Fire Insurance Co., Ltd.UNot stated in registerDomestic privateTokio MarineVerified
Zurich Australian Insurance NZ branchGGeneral (Non-life)Foreign multinationalZurichVerified
Asteron Life NZLLifeForeign multinationalResolution LifeVerified
IAG New ZealandGGeneral (Non-life)Foreign multinationalIAGVerified
Lloyd's (NZ)GGeneral (Non-life)Regional / multilateralLloyd'sVerified
nib nzHHealth / MedicalForeign multinationalnibVerified
Resolution Life Australasia LimitedLLifeForeign multinationalResolution LifeVerified
Resolution Life NZLLifeForeign multinationalResolution LifeVerified
The Hollard Insurance Company Pty LtdUNot stated in registerForeign multinationalHollard GroupVerified
Tower InsuranceGGeneral (Non-life)Domestic privateTower LtdVerified

Full table for New Zealand ↗

Regulatory intelligence: New Zealand

Read from the register, not written for this page: the supervisor’s regime, the source the list was checked against, and the market notes recorded alongside it.

Regime
Insurance (Prudential Supervision) Act 2010 (IPSA)
Register source
RBNZ Register of New Zealand licensed insurers, last updated 26 Aug 2026 (page saved by the owner on 23 Sep 2026): 79 licensed insurers
Verification
Verified against the regulator register · RBNZ Register of New Zealand licensed insurers, last updated 26 Aug 2026 (page saved by the owner on 23 Sep 2026): 79 licensed insurers

No market event is recorded against this register for 2026. The regime and source above are the standing facts.

Governing legislation

  • Insurance (Prudential Supervision) Act 2010 · Institutional and insurance framework

    RBNZ prudentially supervises insurers under IPSA, with boards and senior management primarily responsible for their businesses. Conduct regulation also involves the FMA.

Verification log

Reconciled against the RBNZ register of 79 licensed insurers (last updated 26 Aug 2026, page saved by the owner): 32 rows matched, 47 licensees added (overseas insurers operating in NZ, captives, the second MAS, Gen Re, Munich Re and Southern Cross entities, Hollard, Union Medical Benefits), 14 rows removed (brands such as Ando, Initio, Cove, Accuro and UniMed that are not licensees, Foundation Life whose licence was cancelled on 4 May 2026, and rows absent from the register), ACC and the Natural Hazards Commission kept as statutory bodies outside the register. The register gives no class, so added classes come from names only and many are U.

For B2B teams and AI agents

The same rows as static JSON, no key, CORS open, CC BY 4.0. Paged files stay under 96 KB so an agent’s fetch tool never truncates them.

curl -s https://insurers.global/api/v1/countries/new-zealand.json
curl -s https://insurers.global/api/v1/countries/new-zealand/insurers/pages/1.json