Licensed list · Asia-Pacific · Middle East & Gulf · IR

Licensed insurance companies in Iran (2026)

PartialPartially verified against the CII register, checked 4 Sept 2026.

The 44 insurance companies licensed in Iran in 2026, as recorded by the Central Insurance of Iran (Bimeh Markazi) (CII), with the class of business and ownership each one is registered under.

Snapshot

44Licensed operators
6Life14% of entities
0General (non-life)0% of entities
0Cross-border groups44 domestically owned

By class of business

Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.

By ownership

  • Domestic private38 86%
  • State-owned / parastatal3 7%
  • Mutual / cooperative3 7%

“Cross-border groups” counts foreign multinationals and pan-regional groups; “domestically owned” counts domestic private, state-owned, mutual and captive entities. The register records the parent’s type, not its home market. How ownership is recorded

Licensed insurers in Iran

Showing 25 of 44 entities. The full, filterable table is on the country page; every row is in the JSON below.

InsurerClassOwnershipGroupVerification
Agah Life InsuranceLLifeDomestic private—Partial
Alborz InsuranceCCompositeDomestic privateAlborzPartial
Amin ReRReinsurerDomestic privateAminPartial
Arman InsuranceCCompositeDomestic privateArmanPartial
Asia InsuranceCCompositeDomestic privateAsiaPartial
Asmari InsuranceUNot stated in registerDomestic private—Partial
Avaye Pars ReinsuranceRReinsurerDomestic private—Partial
Baran Life InsuranceLLifeDomestic private—Partial
Bimeh Markazi (Central Insurance of Iran)RReinsurerState-owned / parastatalGovernment of IranPartial
Dana InsuranceCCompositeDomestic privateDanaPartial
Dey InsuranceCCompositeDomestic privateDeyPartial
Export Guarantee Fund of IranXSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveState-owned / parastatalGovernment of IranPartial
Hafez InsuranceCCompositeDomestic privateHafezPartial
Hamerz Life InsuranceLLifeDomestic private—Partial
Hekmat Saba InsuranceUNot stated in registerDomestic private—Partial
Hooshmand Farda InsuranceUNot stated in registerDomestic private—Partial
Iran Insurance Co (Bimeh Iran)CCompositeState-owned / parastatalGovernment of IranPartial
Iran Moein ReinsuranceRReinsurerDomestic private—Partial
Iranian ReRReinsurerDomestic privateIranian RePartial
Karafarin InsuranceCCompositeDomestic privateKarafarinPartial
Karizma Life InsuranceLLifeDomestic private—Partial
Kish Mutual InsuranceUNot stated in registerMutual / cooperative—Partial
Kowsar InsuranceCCompositeDomestic privateKowsarPartial
Ma InsuranceCCompositeDomestic privateMaPartial
Mellat InsuranceCCompositeDomestic privateMellatPartial

Full table for Iran ↗

Regulatory intelligence: Iran

Read from the register, not written for this page: the supervisor’s regime, the source the list was checked against, and the market notes recorded alongside it.

Regime
Act on the Establishment of Bimeh Markazi Iran and Insurance Operation (1971); sanctioned market
Register source
Central Insurance of the Islamic Republic of Iran (Bimeh Markazi): (a) the table of latest registered capital of insurance companies, updated 1404/02/21 (11 May 2025), and (b) the table of latest authorised risk-retention capacity of insurance companies, updated 1404/03/21 (11 Jun 2025) - both name the same 39 companies, 35 mainland and 4 free-zone; and (c) the preliminary 1404 company performance table (sherkat12.404), published 9 May 2026 and covering the Iranian year to 20 Mar 2026, which names 35 direct insurance companies - every one of the 39 that is not a reinsurer, plus three more (Kish Mutual, Qeshm Etminan Motahed Mutual and Mofid Life). Corroborated by the supervisor's own home-page company directory of 38 company logos captured 26 Aug 2025. All retrieved 23 Sep 2026 from Wayback Machine captures of centinsur.ir, because the live host answers 403 from this location.
Verification
Partially verified against the regulator register · Central Insurance of the Islamic Republic of Iran (Bimeh Markazi): (a) the table of latest registered capital of insurance companies, updated 1404/02/21 (11 May 2025), and (b) the table of latest authorised risk-retention capacity of insurance companies, updated 1404/03/21 (11 Jun 2025) - both name the same 39 companies, 35 mainland and 4 free-zone; and (c) the preliminary 1404 company performance table (sherkat12.404), published 9 May 2026 and covering the Iranian year to 20 Mar 2026, which names 35 direct insurance companies - every one of the 39 that is not a reinsurer, plus three more (Kish Mutual, Qeshm Etminan Motahed Mutual and Mofid Life). Corroborated by the supervisor's own home-page company directory of 38 company logos captured 26 Aug 2025. All retrieved 23 Sep 2026 from Wayback Machine captures of centinsur.ir, because the live host answers 403 from this location.

No market event is recorded against this register for 2026. The regime and source above are the standing facts.

Governing legislation

  • Current official legal text unavailable · Institutional and insurance framework

    A current primary-source consolidation could not be retrieved. No unverified law number or amendment date is presented as confirmed.

Verification log

Reconciled against Bimeh Markazi's own tables of insurance companies - registered capital 1404/02/21 and authorised risk retention 1404/03/21, which both name the same 39 companies (35 mainland, 4 free-zone), and the preliminary 1404 company performance table published 9 May 2026, which names 35 direct insurers to 20 Mar 2026. All 24 register entities already held were confirmed and 18 companies were added, among them five reinsurers, six life companies and two mutual insurers. Bimeh Markazi itself and the Export Guarantee Fund of Iran are kept but sit outside the register. The sources are supervisory tables rather than a licence register, and the supervisor's website answers 403 to requests from outside Iran.

For B2B teams and AI agents

The same rows as static JSON, no key, CORS open, CC BY 4.0. Paged files stay under 96 KB so an agent’s fetch tool never truncates them.

curl -s https://insurers.global/api/v1/countries/iran.json
curl -s https://insurers.global/api/v1/countries/iran/insurers/pages/1.json