Register export · Asia-Pacific · Middle East & Gulf · IR

CII register: licensed insurers in Iran

PartialPartially verified against the CII register, checked 4 Sept 2026.

The CII register for Iran as the directory holds it: 44 licensed insurers with the identifiers the register carries, ready to export as JSON.

Snapshot

44Licensed operators
6Life14% of entities
0General (non-life)0% of entities
0Cross-border groups44 domestically owned

By class of business

Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.

By ownership

  • Domestic private38 86%
  • State-owned / parastatal3 7%
  • Mutual / cooperative3 7%

“Cross-border groups” counts foreign multinationals and pan-regional groups; “domestically owned” counts domestic private, state-owned, mutual and captive entities. The register records the parent’s type, not its home market. How ownership is recorded

CII register rows

All 44 entities.

InsurerClassRegister idLEIRegisteredWebsiteVerification
Agah Life InsuranceLLife————Partial
Alborz InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Amin ReRReinsurer————Partial
Arman InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Asia InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Asmari InsuranceUNot stated in register————Partial
Avaye Pars ReinsuranceRReinsurer————Partial
Baran Life InsuranceLLife————Partial
Bimeh Markazi (Central Insurance of Iran)RReinsurer————Partial
Dana InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Dey InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Export Guarantee Fund of IranXSpecialty / Credit / Captive————Partial
Hafez InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Hamerz Life InsuranceLLife————Partial
Hekmat Saba InsuranceUNot stated in register————Partial
Hooshmand Farda InsuranceUNot stated in register————Partial
Iran Insurance Co (Bimeh Iran)CComposite————Partial
Iran Moein ReinsuranceRReinsurer————Partial
Iranian ReRReinsurer————Partial
Karafarin InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Karizma Life InsuranceLLife————Partial
Kish Mutual InsuranceUNot stated in register————Partial
Kowsar InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Ma InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Mellat InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Middle East Life InsuranceLLife————Partial
Mihan InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Moallem InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Mofid Life InsuranceLLife————Partial
Novin InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Omid InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Pardis InsuranceUNot stated in register————Partial
Parsian InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Pasargad InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Qeshm Etminan Motahed Mutual InsuranceUNot stated in register————Partial
Raya ReinsuranceRReinsurer————Partial
Razi InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Saman InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Saman ReinsuranceRReinsurer————Partial
Sarmad InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Sina InsuranceUNot stated in register————Partial
Taavon InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Tehran Ravak ReinsuranceRReinsurer————Partial
Tejarat-No InsuranceCComposite————Partial

Full table for Iran ↗

Regulatory intelligence: Iran

Read from the register, not written for this page: the supervisor’s regime, the source the list was checked against, and the market notes recorded alongside it.

Regime
Act on the Establishment of Bimeh Markazi Iran and Insurance Operation (1971); sanctioned market
Register source
Central Insurance of the Islamic Republic of Iran (Bimeh Markazi): (a) the table of latest registered capital of insurance companies, updated 1404/02/21 (11 May 2025), and (b) the table of latest authorised risk-retention capacity of insurance companies, updated 1404/03/21 (11 Jun 2025) - both name the same 39 companies, 35 mainland and 4 free-zone; and (c) the preliminary 1404 company performance table (sherkat12.404), published 9 May 2026 and covering the Iranian year to 20 Mar 2026, which names 35 direct insurance companies - every one of the 39 that is not a reinsurer, plus three more (Kish Mutual, Qeshm Etminan Motahed Mutual and Mofid Life). Corroborated by the supervisor's own home-page company directory of 38 company logos captured 26 Aug 2025. All retrieved 23 Sep 2026 from Wayback Machine captures of centinsur.ir, because the live host answers 403 from this location.
Verification
Partially verified against the regulator register · Central Insurance of the Islamic Republic of Iran (Bimeh Markazi): (a) the table of latest registered capital of insurance companies, updated 1404/02/21 (11 May 2025), and (b) the table of latest authorised risk-retention capacity of insurance companies, updated 1404/03/21 (11 Jun 2025) - both name the same 39 companies, 35 mainland and 4 free-zone; and (c) the preliminary 1404 company performance table (sherkat12.404), published 9 May 2026 and covering the Iranian year to 20 Mar 2026, which names 35 direct insurance companies - every one of the 39 that is not a reinsurer, plus three more (Kish Mutual, Qeshm Etminan Motahed Mutual and Mofid Life). Corroborated by the supervisor's own home-page company directory of 38 company logos captured 26 Aug 2025. All retrieved 23 Sep 2026 from Wayback Machine captures of centinsur.ir, because the live host answers 403 from this location.

No market event is recorded against this register for 2026. The regime and source above are the standing facts.

Governing legislation

  • Current official legal text unavailable · Institutional and insurance framework

    A current primary-source consolidation could not be retrieved. No unverified law number or amendment date is presented as confirmed.

Verification log

Reconciled against Bimeh Markazi's own tables of insurance companies - registered capital 1404/02/21 and authorised risk retention 1404/03/21, which both name the same 39 companies (35 mainland, 4 free-zone), and the preliminary 1404 company performance table published 9 May 2026, which names 35 direct insurers to 20 Mar 2026. All 24 register entities already held were confirmed and 18 companies were added, among them five reinsurers, six life companies and two mutual insurers. Bimeh Markazi itself and the Export Guarantee Fund of Iran are kept but sit outside the register. The sources are supervisory tables rather than a licence register, and the supervisor's website answers 403 to requests from outside Iran.

For B2B teams and AI agents

The same rows as static JSON, no key, CORS open, CC BY 4.0. Paged files stay under 96 KB so an agent’s fetch tool never truncates them.

curl -s https://insurers.global/api/v1/countries/iran.json
curl -s https://insurers.global/api/v1/countries/iran/insurers/pages/1.json