Licensed list · Asia-Pacific · Oceania

Licensed insurance companies in the Pacific Islands (2026)

PartialPartially verified against the Central banks register, checked 4 Sept 2026.

The 53 insurance companies licensed in the Pacific Islands in 2026, as recorded by the National central banks and insurance supervisors (Reserve Bank of Vanuatu, Central Bank of Solomon Islands and others) (Central banks), with the class of business and ownership each one is registered under.

Snapshot

By class of business

Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.

By ownership

  • Domestic private43 81%
  • Foreign multinational9 17%
  • State-owned / parastatal1 2%

“Cross-border groups” counts foreign multinationals and pan-regional groups; “domestically owned” counts domestic private, state-owned, mutual and captive entities. The register records the parent’s type, not its home market. How ownership is recorded

Licensed insurers in the Pacific Islands

Showing 25 of 53 entities. The full, filterable table is on the country page; every row is in the JSON below.

InsurerClassOwnershipGroupVerification
Tower Insurance (Samoa, Tonga, Cook Islands, Vanuatu)GGeneral (Non-life)Foreign multinationalTower LtdPartial
Agaricus Limited (Cook Islands)XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveDomestic private—Partial
AIA New Zealand Limited (Cook Islands)LLifeForeign multinational—Partial
AIB Risk Management Limited (Cook Islands)XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveDomestic private—Partial
Alpha Insurance (Vanuatu) LimitedGGeneral (Non-life)Domestic private—Partial
Apia Insurance Co Ltd (Samoa)GGeneral (Non-life)Domestic private—Partial
Ararat Limited (Cook Islands)XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveDomestic private—Partial
Argosy Cover Limited (Cook Islands)XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveDomestic private—Partial
Biltmore Life Insurance Company Limited (Vanuatu)XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveDomestic private—Partial
Caledonian Insurance Co., Limited (Vanuatu)XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveDomestic private—Partial
Capital Insurance (Solomon Islands)CCompositeForeign multinationalCapital Insurance GroupPartial
Capital Insurance Ltd (Vanuatu)GGeneral (Non-life)Domestic private—Partial
CBI Insurance Ltd (Vanuatu)UNot stated in registerDomestic private—Partial
Chubb Insurance New Zealand Limited (Cook Islands)GGeneral (Non-life)Foreign multinational—Partial
Contact Energy Risk Limited (Cook Islands)XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveDomestic private—Partial
Cook Islands Captive Insurance Company (Cook Islands)XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveDomestic private—Partial
Deseret Mutual Benefit (Samoa)LLifeForeign multinational—Partial
EastPack Risk Management Limited (Cook Islands)XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveDomestic private—Partial
EverBest Re Corporation Ltd (Vanuatu)RReinsurerDomestic private—Partial
Exsular Insurance Corporation Ltd (Vanuatu)UNot stated in registerDomestic private—Partial
Federal Pacific Insurance (Tonga)GGeneral (Non-life)Domestic privateFPIPartial
Federal Pacific Insurance Vanuatu LtdGGeneral (Non-life)Domestic private—Partial
Feniks Indemnity RE Limited (Cook Islands)XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveDomestic private—Partial
Gourmet Risk Management Limited (Cook Islands)XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveDomestic private—Partial
JPG Captive Limited (Cook Islands)XSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveDomestic private—Partial

Full table for the Pacific Islands ↗

Regulatory intelligence: the Pacific Islands

Read from the register, not written for this page: the supervisor’s regime, the source the list was checked against, and the market notes recorded alongside it.

Supervisor
National central banks and insurance supervisors (Reserve Bank of Vanuatu, Central Bank of Solomon Islands and others) Central banks
Register source
Four member-jurisdiction registers retrieved 23 Sep 2026: Central Bank of Samoa, Licensed Financial Institutions 2026 (updated April 2026) - 2 life + 5 general insurance companies; Cook Islands Financial Supervisory Commission, Insurers page - 1 Licence Category A insurer, 3 approved external insurers, 27 licensed captive insurers; Reserve Bank of Vanuatu, supervised financial institutions - 4 local insurance companies, 1 reinsurer, 3 international insurers, 1 external insurer, 4 captives; Central Bank of Solomon Islands, Financial System Infrastructure - 3 general insurers of which 1 also holds the life licence. Tonga: the National Reserve Bank of Tonga's own list of licensed financial institutions has no insurance category and the NRBT publishes no insurer register. Kiribati: neither MFED nor the Kiribati Financial Supervisory Authority publishes a licensee list.
Verification
Partially verified against the regulator register · Four member-jurisdiction registers retrieved 23 Sep 2026: Central Bank of Samoa, Licensed Financial Institutions 2026 (updated April 2026) - 2 life + 5 general insurance companies; Cook Islands Financial Supervisory Commission, Insurers page - 1 Licence Category A insurer, 3 approved external insurers, 27 licensed captive insurers; Reserve Bank of Vanuatu, supervised financial institutions - 4 local insurance companies, 1 reinsurer, 3 international insurers, 1 external insurer, 4 captives; Central Bank of Solomon Islands, Financial System Infrastructure - 3 general insurers of which 1 also holds the life licence. Tonga: the National Reserve Bank of Tonga's own list of licensed financial institutions has no insurance category and the NRBT publishes no insurer register. Kiribati: neither MFED nor the Kiribati Financial Supervisory Authority publishes a licensee list.

No market event is recorded against this register for 2026. The regime and source above are the standing facts.

Governing legislation

  • Samoa · Central Bank · National jurisdiction

    Under the Insurance Act 2007 the central-bank governor is Insurance Commissioner.

  • Vanuatu · Reserve Bank · National jurisdiction

    Insurance Act 54/2005 and subsequent amendments.

  • Solomon Islands · Central Bank · National jurisdiction

    The bank’s legal library includes the Insurance Act and central-bank legislation.

  • Cook Islands · FSC · National jurisdiction

    Financial Supervisory Commission Act 2003 and Insurance Act 2008, as amended.

Verification log

Registers retrieved 23 Sep 2026 for four of the six member jurisdictions: Central Bank of Samoa (Licensed Financial Institutions 2026, updated April 2026), Cook Islands FSC, Reserve Bank of Vanuatu and Central Bank of Solomon Islands. Five of the seven rows were confirmed against a register and 48 licensed insurers were added, most of them Cook Islands and Vanuatu captive and offshore insurers that had never been recorded. QBE Insurance (Vanuatu) and Vanuatu Insurance were removed: neither appears in any RBV insurance category. Tonga and Kiribati publish no register, so the market stays partially verified; the Tonga row (Federal Pacific Insurance) was matched against the same insurer's Samoa and Cook Islands licences, not against a Tongan register.

For B2B teams and AI agents

The same rows as static JSON, no key, CORS open, CC BY 4.0. Paged files stay under 96 KB so an agent’s fetch tool never truncates them.

curl -s https://insurers.global/api/v1/countries/pacific-islands.json
curl -s https://insurers.global/api/v1/countries/pacific-islands/insurers/pages/1.json