Register export · Asia-Pacific · Middle East & Gulf · AE

CBUAE register: licensed insurers in the United Arab Emirates

PartialPartially verified against the CBUAE register, checked 4 Sept 2026.

The CBUAE register for the United Arab Emirates as the directory holds it: 68 licensed insurers with the identifiers the register carries, ready to export as JSON.

Snapshot

By class of business

Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.

By ownership

  • Foreign multinational33 49%
  • Domestic private31 46%
  • State-owned / parastatal3 4%
  • Regional / multilateral1 1%

“Cross-border groups” counts foreign multinationals and pan-regional groups; “domestically owned” counts domestic private, state-owned, mutual and captive entities. The register records the parent’s type, not its home market. How ownership is recorded

CBUAE register rows

All 68 entities.

InsurerClassRegister idLEIRegisteredWebsiteVerification
AIG MEA (DIFC)GGeneral (Non-life)————Partial
Allianz Middle EastLLife————Partial
AXA Gulf -> GIG GulfCComposite————Partial
Bupa Global (DIFC)HHealth / Medical————Partial
Hannover Re Bahrain/DIFCRReinsurer————Partial
MetLife Gulf (UAE)LLife————Partial
Munich Re DIFCRReinsurer————Partial
SCOR DIFCRReinsurer————Partial
Swiss Re DIFCRReinsurer————Partial
Zurich International Life (UAE)LLife————Partial
Al Sagr NationalGGeneral (Non-life)————Partial
Cigna Middle EastHHealth / Medical————Partial
Lloyd's DubaiGGeneral (Non-life)————Partial
Salama (Islamic Arab Insurance)TTakaful / Islamic————Partial
Abu Dhabi National Insurance Co (ADNIC)CComposite————Partial
Abu Dhabi National TakafulTTakaful / Islamic————Partial
Adamjee Insurance Company LimitedUNot stated in register————Partial
Al Ain Ahlia InsuranceGGeneral (Non-life)————Partial
Al Buhaira NationalGGeneral (Non-life)————Partial
Al Dhafra InsuranceGGeneral (Non-life)————Partial
Al Fujairah National Insurance Company PSCUNot stated in register————Partial
Al Ittihad Al Watani - General Insurance Company for the Near EastUNot stated in register————Partial
Al Wathba National InsuranceGGeneral (Non-life)————Partial
Alliance InsuranceCComposite————Partial
American Home Insurance Company (Dubai Branch)UNot stated in register————Partial
Arabia Insurance Company S.A.L.UNot stated in register————Partial
Chubb Tempest Life Reinsurance LtdRReinsurer————Partial
Daman (National Health Insurance Co)HHealth / Medical————Partial
Dubai InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Dubai Islamic Insurance & Reinsurance (Aman)TTakaful / Islamic————Partial
Dubai National Insurance & Reinsurance P.S.C.UNot stated in register————Partial
Emirates InsuranceGGeneral (Non-life)————Partial
Emirates RetakafulRReinsurer————Partial
Etihad Credit InsuranceXSpecialty / Credit / Captive————Partial
Export Credit Insurance Company of the EmiratesXSpecialty / Credit / Captive————Partial
Fidelity United InsuranceGGeneral (Non-life)————Partial
Friends Provident International LimitedUNot stated in register————Partial
General Insurance Corporation of IndiaUNot stated in register————Partial
Hayah Insurance CompanyUNot stated in register————Partial
Insurance HouseGGeneral (Non-life)————Partial
Iran Insurance CompanyUNot stated in register————Partial
Jordan Insurance Co. LtdUNot stated in register————Partial
Life Insurance Corporation (International) B.S.C. (c)LLife————Partial
Liva Insurance (ex-RSA Middle East / NLGIC)GGeneral (Non-life)————Partial
Methaq TakafulTTakaful / Islamic————Partial
Mitsui Sumitomo Insurance Co. LtdUNot stated in register————Partial
National General Insurance (NGI)CComposite————Partial
National Life and General Insurance Company SAOGCComposite————Partial
Noor Takaful -> Dar Al Takaful (Watania)TTakaful / Islamic————Partial
Orient InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Orient Takaful PJSCTTakaful / Islamic————Partial
Qatar General Insurance & Reinsurance Co. S.A.Q.UNot stated in register————Partial
Qatar Insurance Co.UNot stated in register————Partial
Ras Al Khaimah National (RAK Insurance)GGeneral (Non-life)————Partial
Saudi Arabian Insurance Company B.S.C. (c)UNot stated in register————Partial
Sharjah InsuranceGGeneral (Non-life)————Partial
State Life Insurance Corporation of PakistanLLife————Partial
Sukoon Insurance (ex-Oman Insurance)CComposite————Partial
Sukoon Takaful PJSCTTakaful / Islamic————Partial
Takaful Emarat - Insurance PSCTTakaful / Islamic————Partial
The Mediterranean & Gulf Insurance & Reinsurance Company B.S.C. (c) - MedgulfUNot stated in register————Partial
The New India Assurance Company LimitedUNot stated in register————Partial
The Oriental Insurance Company LimitedUNot stated in register————Partial
Tokio Marine & Nichido Fire Insurance Co. LtdGGeneral (Non-life)————Partial
Union InsuranceCComposite————Partial
Watania Takaful FamilyTTakaful / Islamic————Partial
Yas TakafulTTakaful / Islamic————Partial
Zurich Life Insurance Company LimitedLLife————Partial

Full table for the United Arab Emirates ↗

Regulatory intelligence: the United Arab Emirates

Read from the register, not written for this page: the supervisor’s regime, the source the list was checked against, and the market notes recorded alongside it.

Regime
Federal Decree-Law 48/2023; CBUAE supervision; DIFC and ADGM regulated separately
Register source
CBUAE "CB Register July of 2025 - Insurance companies and related professions", section "Insurance companies" (national, foreign and takaful), PDF created 4 Aug 2025, retrieved 23 Sep 2026: 58 insurance companies
Verification
Partially verified against the regulator register · CBUAE "CB Register July of 2025 - Insurance companies and related professions", section "Insurance companies" (national, foreign and takaful), PDF created 4 Aug 2025, retrieved 23 Sep 2026: 58 insurance companies

No market event is recorded against this register for 2026. The regime and source above are the standing facts.

Governing legislation

  • Federal Decree-Law 6/2025 · Institutional and insurance framework

    The CBUAE rulebook states that the 2025 central-bank and financial-institutions law repeals Federal Decree-Law 48/2023 on insurance. DIFC and ADGM have separate regulatory jurisdictions.

Verification log

Reconciled against the CBUAE register of licensed insurance companies of July 2025 (58 national, foreign and takaful insurers; the 2026 editions have been taken off the CBUAE server): 28 rows matched, 30 licensees added, Al Khazna removed, two placeholders and one holding company removed, and two takaful rows recorded as renamed (Arabian Scandinavian to Sukoon Takaful, Orient UNB Takaful to Orient Takaful). The nine DIFC and possible free-zone rows (DFSA/FSRA) and Etihad Credit Insurance are not covered by the CBUAE register and were left unchanged.

For B2B teams and AI agents

The same rows as static JSON, no key, CORS open, CC BY 4.0. Paged files stay under 96 KB so an agent’s fetch tool never truncates them.

curl -s https://insurers.global/api/v1/countries/united-arab-emirates.json
curl -s https://insurers.global/api/v1/countries/united-arab-emirates/insurers/pages/1.json