Licensed list · Asia-Pacific · Middle East & Gulf · AE

Licensed insurance companies in the United Arab Emirates (2026)

PartialPartially verified against the CBUAE register, checked 4 Sept 2026.

The 68 insurance companies licensed in the United Arab Emirates in 2026, as recorded by the Central Bank of the UAE (Insurance) / DFSA / ADGM FSRA (CBUAE), with the class of business and ownership each one is registered under.

Snapshot

By class of business

Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.

By ownership

  • Foreign multinational33 49%
  • Domestic private31 46%
  • State-owned / parastatal3 4%
  • Regional / multilateral1 1%

“Cross-border groups” counts foreign multinationals and pan-regional groups; “domestically owned” counts domestic private, state-owned, mutual and captive entities. The register records the parent’s type, not its home market. How ownership is recorded

Licensed insurers in the United Arab Emirates

Showing 25 of 68 entities. The full, filterable table is on the country page; every row is in the JSON below.

InsurerClassOwnershipGroupVerification
AIG MEA (DIFC)GGeneral (Non-life)Foreign multinationalAIGPartial
Allianz Middle EastLLifeForeign multinationalAllianzPartial
AXA Gulf -> GIG GulfCCompositeForeign multinationalGulf Insurance Group / FairfaxPartial
Bupa Global (DIFC)HHealth / MedicalForeign multinationalBupaPartial
Hannover Re Bahrain/DIFCRReinsurerForeign multinationalTalanxPartial
MetLife Gulf (UAE)LLifeForeign multinationalMetLifePartial
Munich Re DIFCRReinsurerForeign multinationalMunich RePartial
SCOR DIFCRReinsurerForeign multinationalSCORPartial
Swiss Re DIFCRReinsurerForeign multinationalSwiss RePartial
Zurich International Life (UAE)LLifeForeign multinationalZurichPartial
Al Sagr NationalGGeneral (Non-life)Domestic privateAl SagrPartial
Cigna Middle EastHHealth / MedicalForeign multinationalCignaPartial
Lloyd's DubaiGGeneral (Non-life)Regional / multilateralLloyd'sPartial
Salama (Islamic Arab Insurance)TTakaful / IslamicDomestic privateSalamaPartial
Abu Dhabi National Insurance Co (ADNIC)CCompositeState-owned / parastatalMamoura (ADQ)Partial
Abu Dhabi National TakafulTTakaful / IslamicDomestic privateADNTPartial
Adamjee Insurance Company LimitedUNot stated in registerForeign multinational—Partial
Al Ain Ahlia InsuranceGGeneral (Non-life)Domestic privateAl Ain AhliaPartial
Al Buhaira NationalGGeneral (Non-life)Domestic privateAl BuhairaPartial
Al Dhafra InsuranceGGeneral (Non-life)Domestic privateAl DhafraPartial
Al Fujairah National Insurance Company PSCUNot stated in registerDomestic private—Partial
Al Ittihad Al Watani - General Insurance Company for the Near EastUNot stated in registerForeign multinational—Partial
Al Wathba National InsuranceGGeneral (Non-life)Domestic privateAl WathbaPartial
Alliance InsuranceCCompositeDomestic privateAlliancePartial
American Home Insurance Company (Dubai Branch)UNot stated in registerForeign multinational—Partial

Full table for the United Arab Emirates ↗

Regulatory intelligence: the United Arab Emirates

Read from the register, not written for this page: the supervisor’s regime, the source the list was checked against, and the market notes recorded alongside it.

Regime
Federal Decree-Law 48/2023; CBUAE supervision; DIFC and ADGM regulated separately
Register source
CBUAE "CB Register July of 2025 - Insurance companies and related professions", section "Insurance companies" (national, foreign and takaful), PDF created 4 Aug 2025, retrieved 23 Sep 2026: 58 insurance companies
Verification
Partially verified against the regulator register · CBUAE "CB Register July of 2025 - Insurance companies and related professions", section "Insurance companies" (national, foreign and takaful), PDF created 4 Aug 2025, retrieved 23 Sep 2026: 58 insurance companies

No market event is recorded against this register for 2026. The regime and source above are the standing facts.

Governing legislation

  • Federal Decree-Law 6/2025 · Institutional and insurance framework

    The CBUAE rulebook states that the 2025 central-bank and financial-institutions law repeals Federal Decree-Law 48/2023 on insurance. DIFC and ADGM have separate regulatory jurisdictions.

Verification log

Reconciled against the CBUAE register of licensed insurance companies of July 2025 (58 national, foreign and takaful insurers; the 2026 editions have been taken off the CBUAE server): 28 rows matched, 30 licensees added, Al Khazna removed, two placeholders and one holding company removed, and two takaful rows recorded as renamed (Arabian Scandinavian to Sukoon Takaful, Orient UNB Takaful to Orient Takaful). The nine DIFC and possible free-zone rows (DFSA/FSRA) and Etihad Credit Insurance are not covered by the CBUAE register and were left unchanged.

For B2B teams and AI agents

The same rows as static JSON, no key, CORS open, CC BY 4.0. Paged files stay under 96 KB so an agent’s fetch tool never truncates them.

curl -s https://insurers.global/api/v1/countries/united-arab-emirates.json
curl -s https://insurers.global/api/v1/countries/united-arab-emirates/insurers/pages/1.json