Licensed list · Asia-Pacific · Middle East & Gulf

Licensed insurance companies in Palestine, Syria and Yemen (2026)

PartialPartially verified against the PCMA / SISC / MoF register, checked 4 Sept 2026.

The 30 insurance companies licensed in Palestine, Syria and Yemen in 2026, as recorded by the PCMA (Palestine) / SISC (Syria) / MoF (Yemen) (PCMA / SISC / MoF), with the class of business and ownership each one is registered under.

Snapshot

By class of business

Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.

By ownership

  • Domestic private28 93%
  • Foreign multinational1 3%
  • State-owned / parastatal1 3%

“Cross-border groups” counts foreign multinationals and pan-regional groups; “domestically owned” counts domestic private, state-owned, mutual and captive entities. The register records the parent’s type, not its home market. How ownership is recorded

Licensed insurers in Palestine, Syria and Yemen

Showing 25 of 30 entities. The full, filterable table is on the country page; every row is in the JSON below.

InsurerClassOwnershipGroupVerification
Adonis Insurance Syria (ADIR)CCompositeDomestic private—Partial
Ahleia Insurance Group (Palestine)GGeneral (Non-life)Domestic privateAhleiaPartial
Al Aqeelah Takaful (Syria)TTakaful / IslamicDomestic privateAl AqeelahPartial
Al Arab Life and Accident Insurance CompanyCCompositeDomestic private—Partial
Al Baraka Islamic Insurance Company (Palestine)TTakaful / IslamicDomestic private—Partial
Al Mashrek Al Arabi Insurance CompanyUNot stated in registerDomestic private—Partial
Al Thiqa Syrian Insurance CompanyUNot stated in registerDomestic private—Partial
Al-Mashreq Insurance (Palestine)GGeneral (Non-life)Domestic privateAl-MashreqPartial
American Life Insurance Company (Palestine)LLifeDomestic private—Partial
Arab Insurance Company - SyriaCCompositeDomestic private—Partial
Cooperative Union Insurance Company (Syria)UNot stated in registerDomestic private—Partial
Global United Insurance CompanyCCompositeDomestic private—Partial
Holy Land Takaful Insurance CompanyTTakaful / IslamicDomestic private—Partial
Marib Insurance (Yemen)CCompositeDomestic privateMaribPartial
National Insurance Co (Palestine)CCompositeDomestic privateNICPartial
National Insurance Co SyriaCCompositeDomestic privateNationalPartial
Palestine Insurance CoGGeneral (Non-life)Domestic privatePalestine InsurancePartial
Palestine Mortgage Insurance CompanyXSpecialty / Credit / CaptiveDomestic private—Partial
Syria International Insurance (Arope Syria)CCompositeForeign multinationalAropePartial
Syrian Arab Insurance CompanyCCompositeDomestic private—Partial
Syrian Insurance CoCCompositeState-owned / parastatalSyrian GovernmentPartial
Syrian Islamic Insurance CompanyTTakaful / IslamicDomestic private—Partial
Syrian Kuwaiti Insurance CompanyUNot stated in registerDomestic private—Partial
Takaful Palestinian InsuranceTTakaful / IslamicDomestic privateTakafulPartial
Tamkeen Palestinian Insurance CompanyCCompositeDomestic private—Partial

Full table for Palestine, Syria and Yemen ↗

Regulatory intelligence: Palestine, Syria and Yemen

Read from the register, not written for this page: the supervisor’s regime, the source the list was checked against, and the market notes recorded alongside it.

Supervisor
PCMA (Palestine) / SISC (Syria) / MoF (Yemen) PCMA / SISC / MoF
Register source
Palestine: Palestine Capital Market Authority, 'Insurance companies operating in Palestine for the year 2026', PDF from the PCMA insurance-sector page, retrieved 23 Sep 2026: 12 licensed companies (licence numbers 2-14; 1 and 6 not in use) plus one company in run-off shown with an asterisk. Syria: Insurance Supervisory Commission, the 'Syrian insurance companies' directory and the 13 individual company pages, each giving the licence number and date, retrieved 23 Sep 2026: 13 companies. Yemen: nothing official retrieved.
Verification
Partially verified against the regulator register · Palestine: Palestine Capital Market Authority, 'Insurance companies operating in Palestine for the year 2026', PDF from the PCMA insurance-sector page, retrieved 23 Sep 2026: 12 licensed companies (licence numbers 2-14; 1 and 6 not in use) plus one company in run-off shown with an asterisk. Syria: Insurance Supervisory Commission, the 'Syrian insurance companies' directory and the 13 individual company pages, each giving the licence number and date, retrieved 23 Sep 2026: 13 companies. Yemen: nothing official retrieved.

No market event is recorded against this register for 2026. The regime and source above are the standing facts.

Governing legislation

  • Palestine · PCMA · National jurisdiction

    Capital Market Authority Law 13/2004 and Insurance Law 20/2005.

  • Yemen · published ministry remit · National jurisdiction

    The Ministry of Economy, Industry and Investment portal assigns regulation and oversight of commercial insurers and reinsurers to the ministry. Territorial implementation and the appropriate current authority require confirmation.

Verification log

Two of the three jurisdictions were reconciled against their own supervisors. Palestine: the PCMA's 2026 list of operating insurance companies confirmed six rows, corrected three from composite to general because their licences carry no life branch, and added seven companies including one in run-off. Syria: the Insurance Supervisory Commission's company directory confirmed four rows and added nine, with licence numbers. Yemen: no supervisor publishes a list of licensed insurers that could be retrieved, so the four Yemeni rows are unchanged and unverified, and the market stays partially verified for that reason.

For B2B teams and AI agents

The same rows as static JSON, no key, CORS open, CC BY 4.0. Paged files stay under 96 KB so an agent’s fetch tool never truncates them.

curl -s https://insurers.global/api/v1/countries/palestine-syria-yemen.json
curl -s https://insurers.global/api/v1/countries/palestine-syria-yemen/insurers/pages/1.json