Licensed list · Africa · Central Africa · CG

Licensed insurance companies in the Republic of the Congo (2026)

PartialPartially verified against the CIMA / CRCA register, checked 2 Sept 2026.

The 6 insurance companies licensed in the Republic of the Congo in 2026, as recorded by the CIMA (regional) / Direction des Assurances (CIMA / CRCA), with the class of business and ownership each one is registered under.

Snapshot

By class of business

Each company is counted once, under the class its register row records. The supervisor’s own tally counts licences, so a company licensed for more than one class appears more than once there.

By ownership

  • Domestic private3 50%
  • Pan-African group2 33%
  • State-owned / parastatal1 17%

“Cross-border groups” counts foreign multinationals and pan-regional groups; “domestically owned” counts domestic private, state-owned, mutual and captive entities. The register records the parent’s type, not its home market. How ownership is recorded

Licensed insurers in the Republic of the Congo

All 6 entities.

InsurerClassOwnershipGroupVerification
NSIA Assurances CongoCCompositePan-African groupNSIA GroupPartial
Sunu IARDGGeneral (Non-life)Pan-African groupSunu GroupPartial
AGC (Assurances Generales du Congo)CCompositeDomestic privateIndependentPartial
AMC AssurancesUNot stated in registerDomestic private—Partial
ARC (Assurances et Reassurances du Congo)CCompositeState-owned / parastatalGovernment of CongoPartial
L'Africaine des Assurances CongoUNot stated in registerDomestic private—Partial

Full table for the Republic of the Congo ↗

Regulatory intelligence: the Republic of the Congo

Read from the register, not written for this page: the supervisor’s regime, the source the list was checked against, and the market notes recorded alongside it.

Regime
CIMA Code
Register source
Direction Generale des Institutions Financieres Nationales (DGIFN), Ministere des Finances, du Budget et du Portefeuille Public de la Republique du Congo - the section "LISTE DES SOCIETES D'ASSURANCE AGREES" of its Assujettis page, retrieved 23 Sep 2026: 6 entities. The DGIFN is the ministry directorate that supervises insurance companies and intermediaries (Decret n.2024-93 du 6 mars 2024; its "direction des assurances et des institutions de sécurité sociale" sits inside it), and www.dgifn.cg is the site the ministry itself points to. The table carries no date; the logo images in its SIGLE column were uploaded under /wp-content/uploads/2025/01/, and the companion lists on the same page are labelled "2021 - 2022".
Verification
Partially verified against the regulator register · Direction Generale des Institutions Financieres Nationales (DGIFN), Ministere des Finances, du Budget et du Portefeuille Public de la Republique du Congo - the section "LISTE DES SOCIETES D'ASSURANCE AGREES" of its Assujettis page, retrieved 23 Sep 2026: 6 entities. The DGIFN is the ministry directorate that supervises insurance companies and intermediaries (Decret n.2024-93 du 6 mars 2024; its "direction des assurances et des institutions de sécurité sociale" sits inside it), and www.dgifn.cg is the site the ministry itself points to. The table carries no date; the logo images in its SIGLE column were uploaded under /wp-content/uploads/2025/01/, and the companion lists on the same page are labelled "2021 - 2022".

No market event is recorded against this register for 2026. The regime and source above are the standing facts.

Governing legislation

  • CIMA Treaty of 10 July 1992 and Insurance Code · Regional establishing treaty and insurance framework

    The treaty established CIMA and its supervisory organs. The common insurance code governs member markets; subsequent regulations must be read alongside the code.

Verification log

Reconciled against the DGIFN's "Liste des societes d'assurance agrees" (www.dgifn.cg/index.php/assujettis/, retrieved 23 Sep 2026), which names six licensed insurance companies. Three rows matched; three companies added (L'Africaine des Assurances Congo, Sunu IARD, AMC Assurances); one row, Sanlam Allianz Congo, is proposed for removal as LR (left the register, cause not established). The list is undated, its numbering skips one entry and it names no life company, so it is treated as partial: the classes of the matched rows are left unchanged, and the removal is flagged in caveats for human confirmation before it is applied.

For B2B teams and AI agents

The same rows as static JSON, no key, CORS open, CC BY 4.0. Paged files stay under 96 KB so an agent’s fetch tool never truncates them.

curl -s https://insurers.global/api/v1/countries/republic-of-congo.json
curl -s https://insurers.global/api/v1/countries/republic-of-congo/insurers/pages/1.json